About Canto Cocktail

Mix a Cantopop cocktail with Henry Chu’s special recipe. Canto Cocktail is a karaoke generator that uses computational algorithms to compose new medleys based on excerpts of 120 Cantopop songs. Drawing on shared cultural memories, it offers an affectionate commentary on this popular genre. The project also reflects the increased use of machines for music-making and hints at a future era when computers can be creators rather than just tools.

Henry Chu is a Hong Kong–based designer, programmer, and media artist. He graduated from the Electrical and Computer Engineering programme at the University of Auckland and founded pill & pillow in 2004. The independent studio has won more than 170 local and international awards including recognition at the Cannes Lions, Webby, and One Show. His iPad music app Squiggle was exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art, New York. He has been a speaker at Business of Design Week, TEDxKowloon, and TEDxTaipei.


Henry Chu’s Canto Cocktail is commissioned for M+ Digital Commissions. Housed in the Interactives section of the M+ Stories platform, this series explores online creative practices that sit at the intersection of visual culture and technology.

Image at top: Henry Chu, https://cantococktail.com/, 2020 © Henry Chu

關於《廣東雞尾歌》

跟着朱力行精心設計的食譜,調配一首廣東雞尾歌吧。《廣東雞尾歌》是個卡拉OK生成器,根據擷取自120首廣東歌的片段,以電腦演算法生成出全新的串燒歌。這個作品以共同的文化回憶為靈感,出於對廣東歌的熱愛,針對這個流行曲風格進行評論。本作品亦反映音樂製作中愈來愈多使用機器的情況,暗示電腦在來未必只是工具,更有可能成為創作者。

朱力行是香港設計師、軟件工程師及媒體藝術家。他畢業於奧克蘭大學電機及電子工程學系,在2004年創立pill & pillow工作室。這個獨立工作室獲得超過170個本地及國際獎項,包括康城獅子獎、威比獎及One Show創意獎。他所設計的iPad音樂應用程式《Squiggle》曾於紐約現代藝術博物館展出。他亦在TEDxKowloon及 TEDxTaipei的設計營商周擔任講者。


朱力行的廣東雞尾歌M+數碼委約項目, 於「M+ 故事」的互動展館展出。這系列項目希望在視覺文化與科技交會之處,探索別具創意的網上實踐。

文章頂部圖片:朱力行,https://cantococktail.com/, 2020年,© 朱力行