Henry Steiner: Branding Hong Kong

I would dare say that a designer can only be as good as his clients. And if you’ve got a designer who wants to do things, you use them.

Henry Steiner

Graphic designer Henry Steiner’s work has shaped the identities of some of Hong Kong’s most influential organisations. His projects include the design of the widely circulated Hong Kong-based The Asia Magazine and the logo for HSBC.

Steiner was a pioneer in designing for multi- and cross-cultural contexts, adept at integrating his modernist training in art and design with his deep knowledge and sensitivity to the histories and vernacular languages of Asia—from Japanese typography to symbols of ancient China.

Steiner’s earliest projects include branding for established Hong Kong-based companies such as Hongkong Land and Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, and important landmarks like The Ocean Terminal, The Peak Tower, and Connaught Centre (now Jardine House) —which made him and his work highly visible. His versatility is demonstrated in his designs for clients such as Asiaweek, Dairy Farm, Hong Kong Trade Development Council, Mass Transit Railway Corporation, and Lane Crawford.

Video Credits

Produced by M+
Production House: Jiu Jik Park
Director: Hui Chi Sang
Landscape Videography: Matthew Mak Chi Ho, Kira Fung Ka Cheuk
Aerial Photography: Hui Chi Sang
Video Editor: Allen Ho Man Hin
Animation Designer: Veronica Lui Ka Syun
Music Composer: Hanz Au Lok Heng
Camera: CPAK STUDIO
M+ Video Production: Kenji Wong Wai Kin, Chris Sullivan, Angel Ng Wan Yi
M+ Curatorial Research: Jennifer Wong, Shirley Surya
Special Thanks: Henry Steiner, Michael Rogge

石漢瑞:設計香港品牌

我敢說,有甚麼樣的客戶,就有甚麼樣的設計師。如果你遇到一個銳意創新的設計師,就千萬不要錯過。

石漢瑞

平面設計師石漢瑞曾為一些甚具影響力的香港機構塑造品牌形象,他負責過的項目包括總部曾設於香港、在全球發行的雜誌《The Asia Magazine》及匯豐銀行的標誌。

石漢瑞是多元文化及跨文化設計的先驅,善於將其所學的現代藝術及設計元素,融合他對亞洲歷史及風土文化的深厚認識和觸覺;他由日式字體設計到中國古代符號均有涉獵。

石漢瑞早年的項目包括香港置地、香港上海大酒店等知名的香港公司,以及海運大廈、山頂觀景台及康樂大廈(現為怡和大廈)等香港重要地標。這些項目為他打響名堂,令其作品廣為人知。他的手法和意念靈活多變,這在其為《亞洲周刊》、牛奶公司、香港貿易發展局、地下鐵路公司及連卡佛等客戶所設計的作品中可見一斑。

製作人員

由M+製作
影片製作:
導演:許智生
風景攝影:麥志豪、馮嘉焯
航拍:許智生
剪接:何汶軒
電腦動畫:呂嘉旋
配樂:區諾恆
攝影:CPAK STUDIO
M+ 製片人:王偉健、Chris Sullivan、伍韵怡
策展研究:黃鈺雯、王蕾
特別鳴謝:石漢瑞、Michael Rogge