M+ Stories HomepageM+ Stories Homepage

Ho Fan: On the ‘Decisive Moment’

Photographing in black and white offers me a sense of distance: a distance from real life. I think this kind of distance is important.

Ho Fan

The Early Years

Ho Fan (Chinese, 1931–2016) was a photographer, film director, and actor. He spent his early years in Shanghai, where he began taking photographs after receiving his first camera at the age of fourteen. He moved to Hong Kong in 1949, and from the 1950s onwards gained considerable attention for his striking photographs of everyday life in Hong Kong.

From Photography to a Career in Film

Ho Fan’s skills in image-making in photography made him a natural fit for the emerging Hong Kong film industry. From the 1960s to the 1980s, he became better known for his work in film, in particular with the famous Shaw Brothers studio. In addition to his role behind the camera as a director, Ho Fan occasionally appeared in front of the camera, debuting as an actor in Love Without End (1961).

After a number of acting roles, Ho Fan produced his first independent short film, Big City Little Man (1963), which won an award at the Japan International Film Festival in 1964. Soon he was approached by commercial film studios and became highly successful in producing a new genre of films: erotic features. Films such as The Girl with the Long Hair (1975) and Temptation Summary (1990) were huge commercial successes.

Ho Fan’s Legacy

Today, while much of the Hong Kong that Ho Fan documented no longer exists, a new generation can experience it through Ho Fan’s iconic photographs. Ho Fan’s style of photography exemplifies what the French photographer Henri Cartier-Bresson dubbed the ‘decisive moment’. This method—of waiting for the perfect moment to click the camera shutter—is today considered a rather old-fashioned and even purist approach to photography. It remains a practice that is widely adopted by street photographers and photojournalists alike.

Video Credits

Produced by M+
Producer: Kenji Wong Wai Kin
Curatorial Research: Alexa Chow, Winnie Lai, Tina Pang
Special Thanks: Ho Fan, Sarah Greene, Yung Ma

Share via Facebook
Share via Twitter
Share via WeChat

Part of the series “Making Hong Kong

Making Hong Kong explores artists and makers from the M+ Collection who have been important to the unique development of Hong Kong visual culture.

何藩:決定性的瞬間

黑白是給我一個距離,是跟現實人生有一個距離, 我覺得這個距離很重要的。

何藩

此英文文章由羅步勤翻譯。

早年生活

何藩(1931 年生於中國,2016 年逝世)身兼攝影師、電影導演及演員。兒時於上海生活,14 歲時獲贈首部相機後,攝影生涯便隨之展開。何藩在1949 年移居香港,所拍攝的香港眾生相引人入勝,自1950年代起便開始受到關注。

從攝影到銀幕事業

何藩的攝影技術,在當時日益蓬勃的香港電影業大派用場。他在1960至1980年代期間從事電影工作,特別是參與邵氏兄弟的電影製作,其作品廣為人知。何藩除了擔任電影導演外,偶爾還會亮相幕前,《不了情》(1961)便是他首部參演的電影。

參演多部電影後,何藩在 1963 年完成了他的首部獨立短片《大城市,小市民》,並在翌年的「日本國際電影節」獲奬。不久後,他獲得商業電影公司的青睞,開始拍攝一系列艷情片,並因這個全新的電影類型而大受歡迎。由他執導的電影如《長髮姑娘》(1975)和《三度誘惑》(1990)更是極為賣座的作品。

何藩的傳承

何藩以照片所記錄的香港面貌,大部分已不復存在,然而新生代仍可透過他的經典攝影作品,了解昔日香港。何藩的攝影手法亦體現了法國攝影大師亨利.卡地亞-布列松(Henri Cartier-Bresson)稱之為「決定性瞬間」的精神。這種等待關鍵一刻才按下快門的攝影手法,儘管在今天被視為老派,甚至是純粹主義者才使用的攝影手法,仍然廣受街頭攝影師和攝影記者所採用。

製作人員

由M+製作
影片製作:王偉健
策展研究:周家盈、黎穎、彭綺雲
特別鳴謝:何藩、Sarah Greene、馬容元

香港製造」 系列影片

「香港製造」系列從M+藏品出發,探索對香港視覺文化發展舉足輕重的藝術家、建築師及手工藝者等。