Liu Wei: On ‘It Looks Like a Landscape’

In this video, Liu Wei tells the story behind his 2004 work, It Looks Like A Landscape. After the 2004 Shanghai Biennale panel rejected several of his proposals, Liu Wei submitted this photograph featuring buttocks and body hair, which, to his surprise, was accepted.

He went outside his usual preferred mediums of installation, painting, and video to create this seemingly classical landscape that mocks arbitrary institutional standards. Its monumental size and horizontal composition is a contrast to the traditional handscroll in the literati context, where viewing is an intimate and personal act.

Liu Wei’s artistic practice is primarily concerned with the changing cityscape and contemporary issues stemming from globalisation.

This monochrome photograph which looks like a landscape is, in fact, a collage of naked bodies. They are formed by people bending over with their buttocks pointing towards the sky. With their sides facing us, their thighs and backs form the slopes of either side of the mountains. The folded fat around the waistlines resembles curved cracks on the mountains. Some mosquitos rest on the knees and thighs of the bent bodies.

Liu Wei, It Looks Like a Landscape, 2004, chromogenic colour print. M+ Sigg Collection Hong Kong. By donation. © Liu Wei

劉韡:看似《風景》

劉韡在影片中講述作品《風景》的故事。2004年上海雙年展拒絕了劉韡數項作品方案,其後他呈交了這張展示胴體臀部和體毛的照片,出乎意料地獲得接納。

他走出個人偏好的裝置、繪畫及錄像媒體,創作了這張看似傳統山水畫的攝影作品,諷刺大型機構隨意而為的決策標準。龐大的尺寸及横幅佈局,與著重私密觀賞形式的傳統水墨手卷構成強烈對比。

劉韡主要關注城市景觀的轉變及全球化所衍生的當代議題。

黑白照片作品看似山水畫,事實上是多個赤裸人體嘅局部。有些人體向前彎腰,屁股向天,以側邊面向鏡頭,大腿與背部形成兩邊山坡。腹部的脂肪形成皺摺,好像一道道曲折的山隙。膝蓋與大腿上還有一兩隻蚊子。

劉韡,《風景》,2004年。彩色照片。香港M+希克藏品(捐贈)。© 劉韡