Pak Sheung Chuen: Measuring Time

Wandering around the city is like writing poems.

Pak Sheung Chuen

In this video, artist Pak Sheung Chuen (born 1977, Fujian Province) takes us to two locations of performances documented in his six-part installation Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment): the Kowloon Tong MTR station and a Hong Kong apartment building.

His performance Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment) is the performance after which the installation is named. It involved him standing in the Kowloon Tong MTR station for as long as it would take to see someone he knew in the crowds. In a photograph time-marked at 16:36, the work documents the rare chance of randomly encountering a friend. For his performance Waiting for All the People Sleep, he waited next to a Hong Kong apartment building on Tonkin Street as night fell. He watched as each apartment window turned out their lights, listing the times that the inhabitants must have gone to sleep, until only one remained.

Between 2003 and 2008, Pak was a visual arts columnist for the Sunday supplement of Ming Pao Daily News. He uses this experience to draw inspiration from everyday life, creating thoughtful and playful performances, instructions, and experiments that explore notions of coincidence and uncertainty. Staging a seemingly meaningless situation can trigger multiple connections and meanings, while also using humour as a strategy to interrupt the normality of daily life.


Objects from the M+ Collections featured in this video:

Pak Sheung Chuen. Waiting for All the People Sleep, 2006. Framed photographs . M+, Hong Kong. ©Pak Sheung Chuen
Pak Sheung Chuen. Waiting for a Friend (without Appointment), 2006. Framed photographs. M+, Hong Kong. ©Pak Sheung Chuen

Video Credits

Produced by M+
Camera: CPAK Studio
Editor: Anafelle Liu
M+ Curatorial Research: Isabella Tam, Ethan Cheng
M+ Video Production: Chris Sullivan, Jaye Yau, Elaine Wong
M+ Transcript and Closed Captions: LW Lam, Ellen Oredsson, Amy Leung
Special Thanks: Pak Sheung Chuen

白雙全:生命的刻度

在城市中遊蕩,其實像寫詩。

白雙全

在這影片中,藝術家白雙全(1977年生於福建省)帶我們到九龍塘港鐵站及深水埗一幢住宅樓宇。他分別在這兩個地方進行行為展演,並記錄於其分成六個部分的裝置《等一個朋友》中。

《等一個朋友》這個裝置是其同名行為藝術項目的延伸。行為展演期間,他佇立於熙來攘往的九龍塘港鐵站,直至遇見任何一個他認識的人。一張標示着「16:36」的照片,記錄了他與一位朋友好不容易的偶遇。他策劃了一個看似毫無意義的情景,從而引發不同的聯繫與意義,他亦以幽默的方式詮釋日常生活的平凡。而在《等所有人都睡著了》中,他在晚上到了深水埗東京街一幢住宅樓宇旁,等候每戶的燈光熄滅,並把時間記錄下來,到最後只剩一戶的燈光亮着。

在2003至2008年間,白雙全在《明報》副刊「星期日生活」專欄進行藝術創作。他從生活經驗汲取靈感,創作出一系列滿載趣味而蘊涵深思的行為藝術、指示與實驗,探索日常生活框架中的隨機性、偶然性和不確定性。

影片中的M+藏品:

白雙全,《等所有人都睡著了》,2006年,攝影裝置,M+,香港,© 白雙全
白雙全,《等一個朋友》,2006年,攝影裝置,M+,香港,© 白雙全

製作人員

由 M+ 製作
攝影:CPAK STUDIO
剪接:廖家樺
M+ 策展研究:譚雪凝、鄭懿行
M+ 影像製作:Chris Sullivan 、丘雪君、黃淑賢
M+ 影片謄本及隱藏字幕:林立偉、Ellen Oredsson、 梁仲汶
鳴謝:白雙全