Tao Hui: A Window on Popular Culture

For me, pop culture is what people are most familiar with. I've always wanted my work to be closer to the public to allow people without an art background to relate to it. That’s why I choose pop culture as my mode of expression.

Tao Hui

📹📃Video transcript for Tao Hui: A Window on Popular Culture

Tao Hui incorporates folk culture and traditional art forms into his practice, through painting, video, and graphic works. He uses technological procedures and elements from traditional Chinese culture to question globalisation, virtual relationships, and hegemonic thinking.

Displayed on nine television monitors—resembling headstones installed in three rows of three—the work featured in this video, Hello, Finale! (2017), consists of short films depict characters speaking on the telephone. Although the protagonists differ in age, gender, and occupation, their conversations all relate to the end of time, death, and finality. Without a specific beginning or end, the films encourage viewers to imagine and interpret the development of the stories themselves.

Tao shot Hello, Finale! during an artist residency in Kyoto with local actors, but the Japanese dialogue follows a script that draws from Chinese news stories. He translates complex individual sentiments of confusion and anxiety into a universal social phenomenon. The fragmented narratives are constructed with tender, delicate visual tropes and finely designed costumes and props that contrast starkly with the sombre dialogue.


Image at top: Tao Hui. Hello, Finale!, 2017. HD video installation (colour, sound). Courtesy of the artist, Kyoto Art Center, Rockbund Art Museum, and Luxelakes·A4 Art Museum

Video Credits

Produced by M+
Producer: Adam Studios
Curatorial Research: Pi Li, Isabella Tam, Kary Woo
M+ Video Production: Chris Sullivan, Jaye Yau, Angel Ng

陶輝:流行文化之窗

我覺得流行文化就是最受歡迎的文化吧。因為我一直想讓我的作品更接近大眾,讓沒有藝術背景的人也可以進入到我的作品裏。所以……選擇流行文化作為一種表現的形式對我來說是很有用。

陶輝

陶輝將民俗文化與傳統藝術形式融入到繪畫、錄像與平面設計作品,並以傳統中國文化的技術工序和元素,質疑全球化、虛擬關係與霸權思維。

《你好,盡頭!》(2017)由九部短片組成,分別在以九宮格方式排列、猶如墓碑的電視機上播放,各個短片場景中的角色都在通電話。片中人物的身分職業和性別年齡各異,談話內容皆涉及末日、死亡、結束等主題,但沒有明確的開頭和結局,讓觀眾可自行想像與理解當中的起承轉合。

儘管陶輝是在京都作藝術家駐留期間,起用日本演員拍攝這件作品,但短片的劇本故事大多源自中國的新聞或故事。他將迷茫焦慮的個人情緒,轉化成一種四海皆同的社會現象。作品採取片段式影像敘事,以精心設計的服裝道具,及柔和細膩的畫面構圖組成。


頁面頂部圖片:陶輝,《你好,盡頭!》,2017年,高清錄像裝置(彩色、有聲),藝術家、京都藝術中心、上海外灘美術館、麓湖•A4美術館借出

製作人員

由M+製作
影片製作:Adam Studios
策展研究:皮力、譚雪凝、胡寶雯
M+ 製片人: Chris Sullivan、丘雪君、伍韵怡