M+ Stories HomepageM+ Stories Homepage

An Island of Grazing Unicorns

Curatorial Statement for Hardcore Digital Detox by Miao Ying


The mythical unicorn is typically represented as a majestic white beast with a pointed, spiralling horn projecting from its forehead. In recent years, however, the unicorn has been co-opted by the global financial and technology industries to refer to private start-up companies valued at more than one billion United States dollars. Numbering in the hundreds, many of these unicorn companies run websites and apps that dominate the international media landscape in a way that some, including the Chinese artist Miao Ying, find sinister. Miao’s new online project Hardcore Digital Detox (2018) represents a creative intervention into this digital space, playfully enabling a resistance to the unicorns’ online hegemony from within.

A companion to Miao’s well-known project Chinternet Plus (2016), Hardcore Digital Detox similarly occupies the negative space left by the restricted Chinese internet—popularly known as the ‘Chinternet’. For Miao, the images and ideas that are blocked by the Great Firewall of China are akin to liu bai (negative space) in traditional Chinese ink painting, as both are paradoxically productive negative spaces that stimulate imagination.

Miao considers herself a dual citizen of the Chinternet and the World Wide Web. Hardcore Digital Detox navigates these two spaces simultaneously, pitting mainstream internet users against Chinese censors by playfully instructing users to set their virtual private network (VPN) to mainland China, where popular unicorn websites and smartphone apps like Google, Apple, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Netflix, eBay, WhatsApp, Vimeo, and Amazon are blocked. Far from seeing the restricted internet as a deficiency, Miao’s self-diagnosed Chinternet Stockholm syndrome celebrates the ingenuity, humour, and intelligence of Chinese internet users, and the rich visual culture they have cultivated behind the firewall. Miao’s Hardcore Digital Detox adopts many of these users’ creative workarounds, which are strategies she describes in positive terms as ‘self-censorship’.

Hardcore Digital Detox is a Strategic Lifestyle Advice tool with the seemingly illogical premise of offering an online retreat from the digital world. The work parodies the widespread commodification of ‘wellness’ in Western societies, as well as the growing demand among affluent consumers for post-materialist experiences rooted in authenticity and nature—the kind that make for perfect Instagram posts. Visitors to Miao’s website land on a seductive image of billowing white fabric, emblazoned with the instantly recognisable logos of Chinese and American unicorn companies. As the camera gradually pans up and out, we see that there are actually multiple pieces of fabric cloaking a cluster of computer servers, located on a remote AstroTurfed island. (Tellingly, ‘astroturfing’ is slang for the pervasive practice of political organisations masking their corporate sponsorship.) Miao’s faux-natural island is a visual representation of an internet filter bubble: a personalised and algorithmically designed information landscape, bordered by turret-like unicorn horns.

The phrase ‘Stones from other hills may serve to polish the jade of this one’ appears repeatedly throughout the website. An ancient Chinese proverb that articulates a simple message about finding value in others’ experiences, the expression is here refashioned into a self-help mantra and a series of hashtags, and users are further advised that ‘other people’s problems can be your solution’. The proverb becomes a metaphor for China’s online censorship, accompanied by stock images of stacked-stone sculptures that suggest ‘unplugged’ play. Significantly, in ancient China, stones were believed to reflect the hidden structures of the universe.

Other sections of Hardcore Digital Detox lead users to Baidu Maps, where the combination of censorship and poor technology has created blind spots that render the Chinese navigational tool essentially useless. Like a contemporary reworking of Yoko Ono’s instructional artwork Map Piece (1962), this action guides users towards their own internal Global Positioning System (GPS) to help them reconnect with their physical surroundings, offline. Taking the reverse approach, Hardcore Digital Detox also instructs users to ‘fight fire with fire’ by reflexively counteracting or ‘backfiring’ their computer’s cookie trail with erratic and unpredictable search histories.

Hardcore Digital Detox emphasises the fallacy of a global internet culture while simultaneously underscoring the undemocratic use of networked power in both China and the United States. More than any of Miao’s previous projects, Hardcore Digital Detox interrogates the dialectical relationship between the Chinternet and the World Wide Web, unspooling and parodying complex issues of global capitalism, online propaganda, and media democracy.

Ulanda Blair
Curator, Moving Image, M+


Miao Ying’s Hardcore Digital Detox is the first work in M+’s series of digital commissions. Housed in the Interactives section of the M+ Stories platform, this series explores online creative practices that sit at the intersection of visual culture and technology.

About Miao Ying
Miao Ying is a Shanghai- and New York–based artist. Her work has been shown at the 12th Gwangju Biennale (Gwangju, 2018), “Shanghai Beat”(Contemporary Art Museum Kumamoto, 2018), “All I know is what’s on the internet” (The Photographers' Gallery, London, 2018), “.com/.cn” (co-presented by MoMA PS1 and K11 Art Foundation, 2017), “After Us” (co-presented by New Museum and K11 Art Foundation, 2017),“ The New Normal—Art and China in 2017” (Ullens Center For Contemporary Art, Beijing, 2017), “Secret Surface” (Kunst-Werke Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, 2016), “Holding a Kitchen Knife to Cut the Internet Cable”(Chinese Pavilion, Venice Biennale, 2015), etc.

M+故事主頁M+故事主頁

關於《硬核數據排毒》

想遠離Facebook、Google這些市值數十億美元的企業,來一次「數碼排毒」嗎? 只要將虛擬私人網絡(VPN)設定到中國內地,即是這些網站和流動應用程式均被封鎖之處,便可享受一下輕鬆寫意的「網上隱居生活」!

這是《硬核數據排毒》背後極具諷刺意味的概念,由駐居上海和紐約兩地的藝術家苗穎所創作,也是M+全新數碼委約項目的首件作品。這件個作品以玩味方式反映藝術家對互聯網和「中式互聯網」的作品看法,並透過標榜健康生活的「在線隱居」,探討全球資本主義、網上政治宣傳和傳播媒體民主等議題。


獨角獸之島

苗穎《硬核數據排毒》──策展人的話


自古以來,神話中的獨角獸普遍以尊貴的白馬形象出現,額前長有螺旋角。而近年來,在全球金融和科技領域,所謂獨角獸是指市值估計逾十億美元的初創私營企業。這些獨角獸公司目前數過百家,許多這些公司所經營的網站和流動應用程式,可說主宰了國際媒體生態,而這令中國藝術家苗穎等人深惡痛絕。苗穎最新的互聯網創作項目《硬核數據排毒》(2018年),在數碼空間中作出別具創意的干預,以玩味方式從互聯網體制內對抗「獨角獸」的網上霸權。

《硬核數據排毒》是苗穎著名的創作項目《親特網+》(2016年)的姊妹作,以相近的方式,佔據中國內地限制封鎖的互聯網空間,即被俗稱為「中式互聯網」留空的位置。在藝術家眼中,遭中國防火長城擋截的圖像與思想,就類似傳統水墨的留白;矛盾在於兩者雖同為空白,卻都是富有建設性、能激發想像力的空間。

苗穎自視為互聯網和「中式互聯網」的雙重身分公民。《硬核數據排毒》於是同時遊走於這兩個空間,透過幽默地指導主流網民將虛擬私人網絡(VPN)設定到中國內地,即主流獨角獸公司如Google、Apple、Facebook、Twitter、Instagram、Netflix、eBay、WhatsApp、Vimeo、Amazon等網站均被封鎖之處,讓他們直接對抗中國式審查。藝術家自稱患上「中式互聯網斯德哥爾摩症候群」,非但沒有將互聯網上的限制視為缺陷,反而認為中國內地網民靈活應變、風趣幽默、才智過人,並讚揚他們在防火長城內培養出豐富的視覺文化。藝術家在《硬核數據排毒》用上許多這些網民的創意變通方法,她正面地形容這些對策為「自我審查」。

《硬核數據排毒》是一項「生活方式策略建議」工具,有着一個看來有違邏輯的前提——為用家提供一個遠離數碼煩囂的「網上隱居之所」。作品戲仿西方社會日益將「健康生活」包裝成商品的風氣,以及富裕消費者對「後物質主義」生活體驗日益趨之若鶩;這些生活體驗標榜真實和自然,是Instagram帖子的絕佳題材。訪客瀏覽苗穎的網站時,首先會看到一塊正在飄揚的白色布匹,印上多個一眼就認得的中美獨角獸公司標誌,十分引人注目。隨着鏡頭逐漸向上拉遠,觀者將可見數塊白布罩裹着一組電腦伺服器,位於偏遠的島嶼AstroTurfed(呼應俗語「astroturfing」,即偽草根運動,指的是政治機構蓄意隱瞞自己出資贊助等造假行為)。因此,藝術家的偽天然島嶼將互聯網「過濾泡泡」以視覺方式呈現,建構出一片按個人資料和演算法設計的景貌,由塔樓狀的獨角獸角圍築而成。

《詩經》中的「他山之石,可以攻玉」在網站內出現了數次,此句所述的道理十分簡單,意思是他人的經驗可成為自己借鑑的地方;而詩句在此處則重新包裝成自我提升的口號,並化成一連串話題標籤,還進一步建議訪客「將他人的問題當作你的對策」。在網頁中,詩句隱喻中國線上審查的情況;而伴隨着詩句的,則是各式提倡「不上網玩樂」的石砌雕塑庫存照片。而在中國古代,石頭被視為蘊藏宇宙奧秘之物。

《硬核數據排毒》還引領訪客到「百度地圖」。既因為網絡審查也由於科技差劣,這項導航工具充滿盲點,幾乎「毫無用處」。此作恍如小野洋子的指令式作品《Map Piece》(1962年)的當代重演,引領用家以與生俱來的全球定位系統,重拾與互聯網以外現實世界的連繫。《硬核數據排毒》亦運用逆向手法,指示用家 「以毒攻毒」,透過製造飄忽無常的瀏覽紀錄,抵制及反撃瀏覽器上Cookie記錄的網絡行為。

《硬核數據排毒》強調「全球互聯網文化」理念的謬誤,同時凸顯中國和美國都以專制的方式使用網絡權力。與苗穎先前的作品相比,此項作品更着力詰問「中式互聯網」和互聯網之間對立又共通的關係,戲仿全球資本主義、網上政治宣傳和傳播媒體民主等複雜議題。

Ulanda Blair
M+流動影像策展人


苗穎的《硬核數據排毒》是M+一系列數碼委約項目的首件作品,於「M+ 故事」的互動展館展出。這系列項目希望在視覺文化與科技交會之處,探索別具創意的網上實踐。

請到這裏閱讀我們與苗穎關於此作的訪談。

文章頂部圖片:苗穎,www.hardcoredigitaldetox.com ,2018 年,© 苗穎,2018年

有關苗穎
苗穎是駐居上海和紐約兩地的藝術家,曾參與以下群展:第十二屆光州雙年展的「想像的邊界」(2018年);熊本市現代美術館的「魔都之脈動──上海當代藝術的騰飛」(2018年);英國倫敦攝影家畫廊的「All I Know is What’s On the Internet」(2018年);K11藝術基金會與現代藝術博物館PS1當代藝術中心聯合於上海舉辦的「.com / cn.」(2017年);K11藝術基金會與新美術館聯合於上海舉辦的「我們之後」(2017年);北京尤倫斯當代藝術中心的「例外狀態:中國境況與藝術考察2017」(2017年);柏林KW當代藝術中心的「神秘表象」(2016年);威尼斯雙年展中國館的「手拿菜刀砍網線」(2015年)等。