M+ Stories HomepageM+ Stories Homepage

Out of the Shadows and Into the Sunshine: A Reflection on the Contemporary Art Scenes of L.A. and Hong Kong

Share via Facebook
Share via Twitter
Share via WeChat

I still recall the looks of confusion and astonishment that night in Venice a couple of years ago. It was at the opening dinner for Tsang Kin-wah’s one-person exhibition in what is unofficially referred to as the Hong Kong Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015. I had just given a speech and praised the artist and the fantastically vibrant contemporary art scene in Hong Kong. This was not the first time I compared the current situation in Hong Kong with the one in Los Angeles in, say, the 1990s, but this time, it certainly had an effect. After the speech, questions were fired at me from left and right! What exactly was I implying? Hong Kong and Los Angeles are, after all, fundamentally dissimilar!

Yes, of course, there are major obvious differences, from self-evident things—one is the world’s most vertical city while the other sprawls like an endless, flat network on the other side of the Pacific—to the equally obvious cultural, linguistic, and political disparities. And yet, we could also note that the self-image of both cities is based to a significant extent on the movie industry and popular culture. Moreover, both cities are about the same age—founded in regions that were once sparsely populated—and, in many ways, defy nature. But the core of my comparison is more specific than that; it stems from an embarrassing discovery I made nearly 35 years ago. I realised, on my first trip to Los Angeles, that many of the artists with whom I felt a particular kinship—such as Ed Ruscha, James Turrell, and John Baldessari—and whom I, from my European perspective, automatically assumed to be New Yorkers, were in fact deeply rooted in a completely different world: the American West Coast. More specifically, Los Angeles. The exhibitions of their art we saw in Europe, however, came from New York galleries such as Leo Castelli, and the magazines in which we read about them, Artforum and Art in America, were published in New York. I realised then that I was not the only European who suffered from this delusion—and, later on, that this misconception persisted. In the 1980s, more and more artists from Los Angeles were getting international attention—Chris Burden, Paul McCarthy, Mike Kelley, and Charles Ray, to name but a few—but again, they were being re-, or rather, de-contextualised. Los Angeles was still not to be found on the international art map.

Five canvases with text on them are displayed side by side. From left to right, the text says: this is evil, this is the last evil, this compounds and solidifies evil, this drains evil from the world, now that this has been done it will never have to be done again.

Mike Kelley, Apology (from Australiana), 1984. Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Denmark. Art © Mike Kelley Foundation for the Arts. All Rights Reserved/Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY.

I began to discern an interesting link between all these profoundly disparate artists. They were connected by virtue of their very differences—not only to each other, but in relation to the prevailing trends, styles, and categories that were being fed to the market by the critics. There were no pure examples here of Pop Art, Minimalism, or Conceptualism, artistic movements or styles well established in and identified with New York. Instead, there were original hybrids and incompatible strategies. Another link between these artists was that they all came—artistically—from Los Angeles. And what attracted me to them was that impossibility of categorising them, their ‘impurity’.

Naturally, I wanted to know more and to understand the context from which they came, and started looking for books and exhibition catalogues. But lo and behold, there seemed to be next to nothing. No major exhibitions had been organised to define the obvious singularity of the Los Angeles artists, and the only book on the subject, Peter Plagens’s Sunshine Muse: Art on the West Coast, 1945-1970, was published back in 1974. There were many possible explanations, ranging from the art market’s (i.e., the publishers’ and galleries’) comparative lack of interest in what they saw as provincial California, to low self-esteem, or the difficulty of choosing which artists to include in, or exclude from, an art scene that could best be described as a network of friends who gave mutual support to each other across generations.

Oil painting on Masonite of a blue circle against a maroon background. The circle has a smaller light purple circle with a bright red border in the middle, and is filled with even smaller concentric orange dots.

Billy Al Bengston, Buster, 1962, oil and sprayed lacquer on Masonite, 152.4 x 152.4 cm. Collection Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego. Museum purchase, dedicated in 2002 in honour of Thomas S. Tibbs (1917–2002), Director of the La Jolla Museum of Contemporary Art from 1968 to 1972, 1971.21. © Billy Al Bengston, 1962.

This is where I saw potential, if not a mission: to produce an exhibition attempting to outline developments in the Los Angeles art scene since the late 1950s and early 1960s from a distinctly European outsider perspective. To fill out the picture around the artists who were already fairly well known in Europe by presenting more of the extraordinary, singular oeuvres that would not yet have been highlighted internationally. To show Ed Kienholz together with, say, more local hipster legends such as Wallace Berman and George Herms, and highlight the super-cool Billy Al Bengston and Joe Goode together with Ed Ruscha. Gradually, after years of research, the exhibition Sunshine & Noir: Art in L.A. 1960-1997 began to take shape. Forty-nine artists and an artist collective, more than 200 works and installations, plus two installations with a total of 44 single-channel videos curated by the artists Paul McCarthy and Diana Thater respectively. The exhibition was produced by the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art outside Copenhagen in Denmark and shown in Germany and Italy. Then—contrary to the original plan of showing it only in Europe—Sunshine & Noir moved on to Los Angeles at the Hammer Museum, where it was the farewell show for legendary museum director Henry T. Hopkins before his retirement. ‘This is the exhibition we never managed to get together ourselves. It took an outsider to do it,’ he said in his speech at the preview.

So, what was the picture that emerged, and what has it got to do with the art scene in Hong Kong today?

Oil painting on canvas of a painted dark blue milk bottle standing on a ledge in front of a large, olive green square.

Joe Goode, Milk Bottle Painting (Green), 1961–1962, oil on canvas with oil on glass milk bottle, painting: 171.5 x 167.6 cm, bottle: 22.9 x 8.3 x 8.3 cm. Collection Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego. Gift of Ansley I. Graham Trust, Los Angeles, 1995.10.1-2. Photographer: Pablo Mason. © Joe Goode, 1961–1962.

In simple terms, Los Angeles could be described as an art scene where, for decades, artists had not really expected to be acknowledged for what they were doing. Society was focused on entirely different things—even culturally. The art institutions were weak, and collectors were few and far between. Those who did collect preferred to buy art by artists from other countries or other periods. To exacerbate the situation, the L.A. art scene was overshadowed by the nation’s art metropolis—namely, New York. If it wasn’t happening in New York, it was regarded, by definition, as provincial, especially in the 1960s and 1970s. And ‘provincial’ at that time was definitely a pejorative term. Artists who chose to stay in that environment—and there were certainly many reasons for living in L.A.—had to more or less resign to flying ‘under the radar’. Their audience consisted mainly of artist colleagues and a handful of others. This could obviously be frustrating, but in some sense, it was also liberating. They did not need to succumb to the dictates of the market or critics and adapt or package their art. The result was a long list of bodies of work that are literally without comparison.

And on the day when, to put it sweepingly, the idea of a centre of art collapsed, when the notion of mainstream art became a broad delta, or perhaps even an ocean, it transpired that this very place and its artists were perfectly equipped to deal with the new situation. Los Angeles stepped out of the shadows and suddenly looked like a creative hotbed. Two or even three generations of artists suddenly appeared to be ‘the exciting new thing’ on the international art scene. Some were rediscovered—for instance, Larry Bell and John McCracken—while others were astonishingly late ‘breakthroughs’—like Paul McCarthy—who, after more than twenty active years, were ‘discovered’ in the group exhibition Helter Skelter: L.A. Art in the 1990s at the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art in 1992. And others—like Bruce Nauman and David Hammons—were reattributed to their Los Angeles roots. Ultimately, when L.A. stepped out from the shadows, it brought into the sunshine a long list of remarkable, singular, strongly individual, and irrepressibly diverse artistic practices.

Video still of a man dressed in a chef’s uniform and wearing a mask with a sinister expression, holding a red stick and a ketchup bottle. His uniform is covered in red splotches.

Paul McCarthy, Bossy Burger, 1991, performance, video, photographs, installation. Courtesy the artist and Hauser & Wirth. © Paul McCarthy.

For readers who are familiar with the Hong Kong art scene: does this seem familiar? Replace ‘the 1960s and 1970s’ with ‘the 1980s to 2000s’ and ‘New York’ with ‘Beijing’ and you will find a surprising number of similarities! What has been—and still is—happening in Hong Kong since 2010, albeit on a smaller scale, is the very same process of rediscovery, late breakthroughs, and a discovery of a young art scene with a long list of remarkable, singular, strongly individual, and irrepressibly diverse artistic practices.

Left: Red, white and blue canvas bag has been cut into the shape of a shirt and stitched onto a background of red, white and blue canvas. Right: A white ring shape has been stitched onto a background of white canvas. A triangle of red, white and blue canvas has been stitched onto the ring, looking almost like a diamond.

Left and right: anothermountainman / Stanley Wong, [redwhiteblue]∞, 2001, red-white-blue canvas, set of 5 pieces, each 89 × 117 cm, edition of 25.M+, Hong Kong. Donation of anothermountainman (Stanley Wong Ping Pui), 2017

Then again, there are obvious differences. But if we were to delve deeper, I am certain we would find even more similarities in the histories of the two cities. One of these could be the blurring of genres—I am thinking of film director and actor Dennis Hopper’s photographs and paintings, and, of course, of Ed Ruscha, who under the name of Eddie Russia gave Artforum magazine its graphic profile in the 1960s—a strategy we recognise from Hong Kong, although in the opposite direction, in the practice of Stanley Wong, aka anothermountainman, in the borderland between design and art.

The dinner guests in Venice may have been dumbfounded, but I daresay my comparison between Hong Kong and Los Angeles was rational. And what is more, the comparison inspires hope for the future, at least when it comes to art. In Hong Kong, we have only seen the beginning...


Translated from Swedish to English by Gabriella Berggren
Image at top: Tsang Kin-Wah, The Infinite Nothing: 0, 2015, multi-channel video and sound installation, 6 min. 19 sec., dimensions variable. Image courtesy of the artist.

Lars Nittve joined the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority in January 2011. He was formerly a director of the Moderna Museet from 2001 to 2010 and the first director of Tate Modern in 1998. Nittve has almost 40 years of international experience as a director, curator, and educator of the arts, serving at the University of Stockholm, the Rooseum in Malmö, Sweden, and the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebaek, Denmark. Nittve was awarded an honorary PhD at Umeå University in Sweden and he was named professor at the same university in 2010.

After leaving his post as Executive Director of M+ in the spring of 2016, Nittve continues to work as an external advisor to the project, while also providing strategic advice to other museums around the world.

M+故事主頁M+故事主頁

走出陰影,得見天日:思考洛杉磯與香港當代藝術的景況

分享到Facebook
分享到Twitter
分享到WeChat

我仍記得幾年前一個晚上,在威尼斯看到的那些困惑驚訝的神情。那是2015年第五十六屆威尼斯雙年展,在被我們私下稱為「香港館」舉行的曾建華個人展覽開幕晚宴。席間我致辭表揚這位藝術家,並讚美香港精彩活躍的當代藝壇。我並非首次將香港現況與洛杉磯藝壇(譬如1990年代的面貌)相提並論,但今次顯然引起了大家的注意,問題自四方八面襲來!我指的到底是甚麼?香港與洛杉磯畢竟有霄壤之別!

沒錯,兩地顯然大有分別,相異之處不言而喻:一個是世界聞名的垂直城市,另一個則在太平洋對岸擴展,彷彿極目無盡的扁平網絡;兩地的文化、語言和政治差異亦同樣明顯。然而,我們亦可留意到兩個城市的自我形象,很大程度上都是建立在電影業和流行文化之上。更甚的是,兩城的歷史相若,都是初建於原本人煙稀少的區域,並且其發展在很多方面是違逆自然的限制。不過,我所提出的對比,其重點比這些更具體,那是源於約三十五年前我的一個尷尬發現。我首次到訪洛杉磯期間發覺,許多與我投契的藝術家,例如:Ed Ruscha、James Turrell和John Baldessari,還有那些在我這個歐洲人眼中,理所當然地認為是紐約人的藝術家,事實上是深深植根於一個截然不同的世界:美國西岸,更確切地說是洛杉磯。可是,我們在歐洲所看見這些藝術家的作品展,皆由如Castelli等紐約藝廊籌辦;我們所讀到有關他們的報導,均出自如《Artforum》、 《Art in America》等紐約雜誌。那時,我發現自己並非唯一有此錯覺的歐洲人,後來亦察覺這個誤解仍在持續。在1980年代,愈來愈多洛杉磯藝術家受到國際關注,如Chris Burden、Paul McCarthy、Mike Kelley、Charles Ray等,不勝枚舉,但他們被「再脈絡化」(re-contextulised),或者應該說是被「去脈絡化」(de-contextualised)。故此,在國際藝術界的地圖上,洛杉磯仍是蹤影杳然。

五幅並列的畫布,上面寫有文字。由左至右,上面寫着「this is evil」(這是罪惡)、「this is the last evil」(這是最後的罪惡)、「this compounds and solidifies evil」(這形成和加劇了罪惡)、「this drains evil from the world」(這令罪惡從世界中流走)及「now that this has been done it will never have to be done again.」(現在完成了,以後就不用再做)。

Mike Kelley,《Apology (from Australiana) 》,1984年,丹麥路易斯安那現代美術館,© Mike Kelley美術基金會版權所有,由紐約VAGA授權。

我開始在這些迥異的藝術家之間,看出一個有趣的關聯。把他們連繫起來的,正是他們本身的差異──不僅是個別藝術家之間的差異,還在於他們與藝評人主力向市場灌輸的主流趨勢、風格和分類的差異。這兒並不像紐約,有普普藝術、極簡主義、概念主義或其他廣為人知的藝術運動或風格,反之,這裡有的只是原創的混合風格作品和互相扞格的策略。這些藝術家之間的另一個關聯,是他們的藝術生涯皆始於洛杉磯。他們吸引我的,正正是他們的「不純粹」,因為他們不可能被分類。

我當然想知道更多,以了解他們的出身背景,於是便開始尋找書籍和展覽圖錄。可是一找之下發現,這些資料似乎付之闕如。從沒有大型展覽闡明洛杉磯藝術家顯著的非凡之處,僅有一本著作以此為題──Peter Plagens的《Sunshine Muse: Art on the West Coast, 1945-1970》,已是1974年出版的書。這種情況有許多解釋:藝術市場(如出版商與藝廊)對加州一隅相對缺乏興趣,自信不足,或難以選擇哪些藝術家應納入這個藝術圈中,而形容這個藝術圈最貼切的方式,是「一個互相支持的跨世代朋友圈子」。

油彩、噴漆纖維板,紅色的背景上是藍色的大圓圈。大圓圈的中央有一個紫色小圓圈,圍着鮮紅色的邊,旁邊有更細小的橙色圓點圖案。

Billy Al Bengston,《Buster》,1962年,油彩、噴漆纖維板,152.4 x 152.4厘米,聖地牙哥當代美術館藏品,美術館於2002年購置,向1968至1972年拉賀亞當代美術館(La Jolla Museum of Contemporary Art)館長Thomas S. Tibbs(1917–2002)致敬,1971.21。© Billy Al Bengston,1962

所以,我看到有一件事可以做,甚至視之為使命──籌辦一個展覽,嘗試從歐洲局外人的獨有角度,概述洛杉磯藝壇由1950年代末或1960年代初起的發展;將當地藝壇面貌補充完整,在歐洲已頗有名的藝術家以外,介紹更非凡且尚未受國際關注的藝術家作品。將Ed Kienholz與更本土的潮流界傳奇人物,如Wallace Berman和George Herms的作品並列,同時,特別推介超有型的Billy Al Bengston、 Joe Goode與Ed Ruscha的作品。經過多年的資料蒐集,「Sunshine & Noir: Art in L.A. 1960–1997」展覽逐漸成形,呈現四十九位藝術家與一個藝術團體合共逾兩百件作品與裝置,還有兩件分別由藝術家Paul McCarthy和Diana Thater策劃、合共四十四個單頻道錄像的裝置。展覽由丹麥哥本哈根外的路易斯安那現代美術館(Louisiana Museum of Modern Art)舉行,並與原先的計劃不同,先於德國和意大利展出,再移師洛杉磯漢默美術館(Hammer Museum),作為大名鼎鼎的博物館總監Henry T. Hopkins退休前的告別展覽;Hopkins在預展上致辭時道:「這是一個我們自己無法辦成的展覽,必須由局外人來做才行。」

那麼,展覽呈現的是甚麼景象?跟今日的香港藝壇有何關係?

油彩布本,在橄欖綠色的大正方形前,繪有一個深藍色牛奶瓶。

Joe Goode,《Milk Bottle Painting (Green) 》,1961–1962年,油彩布本、油彩玻璃牛奶瓶,繪畫:171.5 x 167.6厘米;玻璃瓶:22.9 x 8.3 x 8.3厘米,聖地牙哥當代美術館藏品,由洛杉磯Ansley I. Graham Trust捐贈,1995.10.1–2。攝影:Pablo Mason。© Joe Goode, 1961–1962

簡而言之,洛杉磯這個藝術圈中的藝術家,可以說數十年來從未認真期望有誰會重視他們所做的事。社會所關注的是完全不同的事──即使文化上亦如是。當地藝術機構勢單力薄,收藏家少之又少;就算有,他們也偏好購買其他國家或其他時期的藝術家作品。在紐約這個全國美術都會的陰影之下,此情況更趨嚴重。尤其在1960年代至1970年代,如果一場盛事不是在紐約舉行,那就必被視為鄉下,不值一提。當時「鄉下」絕對是個輕蔑之詞。在洛杉磯生活的理由當然有許多,而選擇留在這種環境的藝術家,或多或少要甘於低調行事。他們的觀眾大多是藝術家同好,少數是其他人。這固然令人沮喪,但在某些意義上這可視為一種解脫。他們不必受市場或藝評人支配,去改動或包裝自己的創作,於是成就出一列名副其實、無與倫比的作品。

總而言之,到「藝術重地」這個觀念瓦解的那天,當「主流藝術」這個主張成為一個遼闊的三角洲,甚至一片汪洋時,這個地方和當地的藝術家便漸漸為人所知,而他們已準備就緒以應對新局面。洛杉磯走出陰影,忽然給人創意溫床的感覺:有兩代甚至三代藝術家在國際藝壇突然成為「令人期待的新事物」;他們當中有些被重新發現,如Larry Bell(生於1939年)和John McCracken(1934年至2011年);有的卻意外晚成「藝壇突破」,如Paul McCarthy(生於1945年)活躍逾二十年後,於1992年在洛杉磯當代美術館(Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art)舉行的群展《Helter Skelter: L.A. Art in the 1990s》中被「發掘」;其他人如Bruce Nauman和David Hammons,則獲重新追溯到他們洛杉磯的根源。終於,洛杉磯步出陰影,眾多出色非凡、極具個人風格,變化多樣且不受拘束的藝術實踐得見天日。

錄像截圖中,一個男人身穿廚師制服,戴着露出邪惡表情的面具,手持一根紅色棍子及一瓶番茄醬。制服沾上紅色污漬。

Paul McCarthy,《Bossy Burger》,1991年,行為展演、錄像、攝影、裝置。由藝術家及Hauser & Wirth提供。© Paul McCarthy

各位熟悉香港藝壇的讀者,這是否似曾相識?將「1960年代和1970年代」換成「1960年代至千禧年代」,將「紐約」改作「北京」,你就會發現眾多出乎意料的相似之處。香港自 2010年至今,仍在經歷同一個重新發現的過程,儘管規模較小,但同樣是晚成的突破,同樣是藉眾多出色非凡、極具個人風格,變化多樣、不受拘束的藝術實踐,展現年青的藝壇面貌。

左:紅白藍帆布裁紙成唐裝衫的模樣,並縫到紅白藍帆布上。右:白色的帆布背景,縫有白色的戒指,戒指上有三角形的紅白藍帆布,感覺像是鑽石一樣。

左及右:又一山人/黃炳培,《〔紅白藍〕無限》,2001年,紅白藍帆布,五聯作,各89 x 117厘米,版數:25。香港M+。又一山人(黃炳培)捐贈,2017年。

雖則兩者的確有明顯不同,但是如果我們更深入探討,我肯定我們會在這兩個城市之間找到更多類同。其中一點,是兩地藝術類型的界限都趨於模糊,我想起電影導演兼演員Dennis Hopper的攝影和繪畫,當時還有Ed Ruscha以Eddie Russia為名,於1960年代為《Artforum》雜誌創作的平面設計。這個手法亦見於香港,不過是反向而行,如黃炳培(亦稱又一山人)遊走於設計與藝術之間的實踐。

我把香港和洛杉磯相提並論,或許令威尼斯晚宴的座上客愕然,但我認為它是合理的。而且,這個對比引發我們對未來的希望──至少就藝術而言。在香港,我們才剛剛看見開端。


原文為瑞典文。此文由梁煥茵從英文版本翻譯。
文章頂部圖片:曾建華,《無盡虛無-0》,2015年,多頻錄像及聲音裝置,6分19秒,尺寸不一。圖片由藝術家提供。

李立偉博士於2011年1月加入西九文化區管理局,此前於1998年出任倫敦泰特現代美術館(Tate Modern)首任館長,並於2001至2010年擔任斯德哥爾摩當代美術館(Moderna Museet)館長。李立偉博士擁有近四十年擔任藝術總監、策展人和教育家的經驗,於斯德哥爾摩大學(University of Stockholm)、瑞典馬爾默(Malmö)市Rooseum當代藝術中心(Rooseum Center for Contemporary Art),及丹麥Humlebæk市路易斯安那現代美術館任職。李立偉博士獲瑞典Umeå University頒授榮譽博士學位,並於2010年成為該校教授。

李立偉博士於2016年春季卸任西九文化區管理局M+行政總監後,繼續以「專家顧問」身分為M+的項目及世界各地其他博物館提供專業策略建議。