On Digital Ways of Seeing

It has long been acknowledged that museum technologies of exhibition and display have been instrumental in defining and disseminating cultural knowledge for hundreds of years. Techniques of looking, honed within exhibition halls and galleries, have formed the bedrock of Western knowledge systems. Scholars have long explored the ways we live within ‘the age of the world picture’, in a society based on spectacle, organised through an ‘exhibitionary complex’.Go to footnote 1 These theories of knowledge production emphasise how important ways of seeing are to our understanding of the world.Go to footnote 2 Curated processes of looking constitute powerful ideologies of authenticity and evidence, as well as establishing complex subjectivities bringing individuals and publics as viewers and consumers of culture.

Here, I briefly explore how new digital processes of visualisation are both extending the power of museums to define the world, as well as constituting new perceptual experiences of cultural artefacts. In a recent book, Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age, I argue that we need to understand the proliferation of digital projects in museums in deeper historical context, especially at a time when the digital is itself seen as a powerful evidential tool, constituting new forms of empiricism and realism within museums.Go to footnote 1 Whilst many of us imagine the digital to be heralding in a new era of accessibility to collections, many digital projects in fact reconstitute older techniques of visualisation, reinforcing previous technological and teleological frameworks. Projects such as Google Street View, as it has been developed within museums such as the British Museum or the Acropolis Museum, make these spaces freely available to the public anywhere in the world. However, the viewing experience that is enabled does not allow one to freely roam the halls of these venerated institutions. Rather, one has to follow the proscribed pathways of the Street View camera, a fixed gaze that emerges from a narrowly defined series of principles about how we should move through exhibition halls and look at art.

In this way, the experience of moving through museums using Google Street View instantiates Tony Bennett’s arguments about the Victorian museum as an institutional technology that provides a series of regulated spaces and embodied encounters with collections in order to discipline museum-going publics.Go to footnote 1 Similarly, many digital projects in museums, from Imax cinemas to augmented reality smart phone apps, draw on the reality effects previously created by older museum technologies of taxidermy, dioramas, and stereograph photography, to constitute a sense of hyper-realism within the halls of the museum.Go to footnote 2 Paying attention to these histories shows us that digital technology needs to be understood as part of long-standing traditions of visualisation and somatic experience created within museums.

Rather than simply celebrating the new powers of zooming in and out and flying through and around objects afforded by digital imaging, we can also read these projects as exercises in recalibration: redefining our understanding of objects as evidential and indexical forms, situated within new imperial regimes of seeing, now focused around the collection of data rather than objects in the ground. These forms of recalibration might shift our perceptual frame from that of a person in a gallery space to that of someone looking down into a microscope, allowing us to see into objects and perceive layers not visible to the naked eye in an exhibition hall. Or we may recalibrate our vision to the level of a satellite or a drone, flying over territory and entering into archaeological sites, perhaps even entering the Great Pyramid at Giza.Go to footnote 1 It is clear that the new techniques of visualisation inherent within many digital projects, from 3D scanning at extremely high resolution to MRI imaging and digital fly throughs, and the emergence of these new data sets as objects in their own right, experienced on interactive screens or as 3D prints, are doing more than just allowing us to ‘see’ these ancient works in greater detail. They are part of a broader politics of seeing.

Pixel art illustration of a grey stone archway flanked by pillars. Through the arch, a building with a dome and pillars is visible. Overhead is a blue sky with clouds.

Toyoya Li, Triumphal Arch of Palmyra (2020). Courtesy of the artist

Take, for example, the Million Images Database Project, a joint initiative of Oxford and Harvard Universities, which aims to create a crowd-sourced databank of images of Middle Eastern Heritage, as many as possible in three dimensions.Go to footnote 1 The aim of this project is not simply to consolidate a digital archive, but to use this archive to create a virtual image bank that can in principle be used to resist the iconoclasm and destruction of heritage across the region. Similar projects have been initiated in the wake of the devastating fire in Brazil’s National Museum in Rio de Janeiro, and in relation to other vulnerable material traditions. In all of these projects, it is assumed that digital media might encompass and preserve what is vital (visual) of these object worlds, and re-make them materially accessible to the public, preserving the status of ancient objects as foundational to national and cultural identity. However, as Neil Brodie has trenchantly argued in relation to international efforts to preserve cultural property, without material support in place on the ground within sites and local communities, international regimes of conservation and care will privilege those in Western knowledge centres at the expense of others.Go to footnote 2 The circulation of the 3D printed Triumphal Arch of Palmyra by the Institute of Digital Archaeology is perhaps a good example of this—playing into the constitution of antiquities and their preservation in the United States, the United Kingdom, and Italy—but with far less discernible impact on the protection of antiquities in Syria. In this way, these new digital forms slot seamlessly into upholding the (imperial) traditional role of Western museums as the guardians of world heritage, and maintain a status quo in debates about cultural property and civilisation.

Pixel art illustration depicting the Nefertiti bust—a bust of a woman whose head is covered by a flat, cylindrical crown—in a black space. The black background is covered by a blue grid with clusters of white elongated diamonds along certain points in the grid.

Toyoya Li, Nefertiti bust (2020). Courtesy of the artist

This is, however, not to say that digital technologies are not creating new possibilities for understanding collections. 3D scanning (and printing), augmented and virtual reality, and machine learning and artificial intelligence, are bringing alternative scopic regimes (for instance from the science laboratory and medical clinic, but also from the hacker space or fab lab) into the museum collection, altering our understanding of what we might in fact learn from collections. For instance, In December 2015, two artists, Nora Al-Badri and Jan Nikolai Nelles released 3D scanned data of the bust of Nefertiti from the Neues Museum in Berlin into the public domain, along with a video showing how they had clandestinely stolen the data during museum visits using Kinect scanners hidden under their coats. Alongside the open source provision of data and the video, the project also included a 3D print of the bust and a discussion hosted by the artists in Cairo of the relationship between contemporary art and heritage.Go to footnote 1 The artists called their project The Other Nefertiti and used the hack to propose both a virtual repatriation of Nefertiti, allowing a printed version of the bust to be made visible in Egypt for the first time since her removal, as well as drawing an analogy between the subversive way in which the data was collected and the original collection of the object, which has long been seen by the Egyptian government as emerging from illegal tomb-raiding and illicit archaeology in Egypt by European archaeologists.

This, however, was not the end of the story. In the wake of Nefertiti 2.0, a series of enquiries raised by technologists and journalists put forward the question of whether or not it would have been possible for the handheld scanners used by Al-Badri and Nelles to have captured the data released by the artists. Journalists traced a probable source of the data to a much higher-resolution scan commissioned by the Neues Museum itself and made by a private company, which has not been made available to the public. The website of this company presented a scan of Nefertiti that is uncannily like the image released by Al-Badri and Nelles. The artists responded by claiming that they had no specialist technical knowledge and were using data and resources managed by hackers whom they refused to name. If the sceptics are right, then the project is in fact a double hack: drawing attention to museum hoarding not just of ancient collections but of their digital doubles and using the tools of data collection and presentation to undo the regimes of authority and property over which the museum still asserts sovereignty, mocking the redemptive claims of so-called ‘digital repatriation’.Go to footnote 1

Pixel art illustration of the Nefertiti bust on its side in a black space with a thick diagonal blue beam. Spheres of different sizes are floating around the bust. The bust appears to be covered by a grid pattern, with half being black with a blue grid pattern.

Toyoya Li, 3D print of Nefertiti (2020). Courtesy of the artist

It is crucial that we understand the ways in which these technologies work, not just to create magnificent visualisations of collections, but also to create new seeing subjects out of ourselves. With the advent of machine learning we are increasingly exposed to new kinds of digital images made not through the indexicality of photographic processes, in which an original object is captured and mirrored with digital pixels, but images made by virtual cameras and computers, emerging from secondary data sources, and produced by algorithms.Go to footnote 1 These new images challenge the existing models of evidence and authenticity that underpin our experience of digital images, especially in museums. They demand a re-examination of the cultural codes and the politics that underpin all visual systems. Who produces the data that creates new images? Just as native informants and guides have so often been written out of the history of archaeology and collections, so are those collecting and crunching data written out of the history of digital objects. The work of museum anthropology has been to recuperate these lost histories and demonstrate the complex social and political networks that underpin the constitution of collections and their display. Digital anthropologists must now do the same for new digital objects.


Image at top: Toyoya Li, Virtual reality (2020). Courtesy of the artist


Footnotes:

  1. Go to footnote 1
    Martin Heidegger, ‘The Age of the World Picture’ in The Question Concerning Technology and Other Essays (New York: Harper and Row, 1977) 115–55. Jonathan Crary, Suspensions of Perception: Attention, Spectacle, and Modern Culture (Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, 1999). Tony Bennett, ‘The Exhibitionary Complex’ New Formations 4 (1) 1988: 73–102.
  2. Go to footnote 2
    John Berger, Ways of Seeing: Based on the BBC Television Series Directed by Michael Dibb. Reissued as part of the Penguin Design Series. Penguin on Design (London: British Broadcasting Corporation, 2008).
  3. Go to footnote 3
    Haidy Geismar, Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age (London: UCL Press, 2018). Available for free download: https://www.uclpress.co.uk/products/108452
  4. Go to footnote 4
    Tony Bennett, The Birth of the Museum : History, Theory, Politics (London and New York: Routledge, 1995).
  5. Go to footnote 5
    Alison Griffiths, Shivers down Your Spine: Cinema, Museums, and the Immersive View (Film and Culture. New York: Columbia University Press, 2008).
  6. Go to footnote 6
    For instance in this app created by Touch Press: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-pyramids/id557865627?mt=8
  7. Go to footnote 7
    See the Million Images Database Project website here: https://www.millionimage.org.uk
  8. Go to footnote 8
    Neil Brodie, ‘Protection Not Prevention: The Failure of Public Policy to Prevent the Looiting and Illegal Trade of Cultural Property from the MENA Region (1990-2015)’ in The Routledge Companion to Cultural Property eds. Jane L. Anderson and Haidy Geismar (London; New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017), 89–107. Available online: https://www.routledgetextbooks.com/textbooks/9781138812642/chapters.php
  9. Go to footnote 9
    See the Nefertiti Hack website here: http://nefertitihack.alloversky.com
  10. Go to footnote 10
    Haidy Geismar, ‘Mimesis, replication and reality’ in Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age. (London: UCL Press, 2018), 105–113. Charley Wilder, ‘Nefertiti 3-D scanning project in Germany raises doubts’, The New York Times, 10 March 2016, https://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/11/arts/design/nefertiti-3-d-scanning-project-in-germany-raises-doubts.html
  11. Go to footnote 11
    William J. Mitchell, The Reconfigured Eye: Visual Truth in the Post-Photographic Era (Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, 1992). Joshua Rothman, ‘In the Age of A.I., Is Seeing Still Believing?’, The New Yorker, 5 November 2018. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/11/12/in-the-age-of-ai-is-seeing-still-believing

Haidy Geismar is Professor of Anthropology at University College London, where she is also the curator of the Ethnography Collections, co-directs the Digital Anthropology Programme, and is also Faculty Vice Dean (Strategic Projects) developing Culture Lab: a new set of research and teaching activities focused on media, heritage, and collections to be part of UCL’s new campus in the Olympic Park in East London. With fieldwork experience in Vanuatu and New Zealand dating back to 2000, her research focuses on museums and collections as sites of knowledge and value production, and she has written on a wide range of topics including the art market, postcolonial museologies, the production of indigenous intellectual and cultural property, the history of ethnographic collections, the epistemology of digital processes in diverse cultural contexts, and the social resonance of historical photographic collections in present day communities. Recent books include Moving Images: John Layard, Fieldwork and Photography on Malakula since 1914 (Hawaii University Press, 2010; winner of the 2012 John Collier Prize for Still Photography from the Society for Visual Anthropology), The Routledge Cultural Property Reader (with Jane Anderson, 2017), and Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age (University College London Press, 2018). She is an active curator, working with museums including the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology at the University of Cambridge, the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, and the East West Gallery, Honolulu, and is part of Te Maru o Hinemihi, a group of experts representing the interests of the Maori meeting house Hinemihi, part of a National Trust property in Clandon Park, United Kingdom. She is also Chair of the Royal Anthropological Institute Photography Committee, and is one of the founding editors of a new open access series, Anthropology and Photography.

論數碼化的觀看方式

眾所周知,博物館的展覽和展示技術,在過去幾百年來對於文化知識的界定和傳播起到了極重要的作用。在展廳和畫廊磨練的觀看技巧,形成了西方知識體系的基礎。長久以來,學者都在探索我們處於這個「世界圖像時代」、置身在一個從視覺出發並由「展覽複合體」組織的社會中是如何生活的。Go to footnote 1 而這些知識生產理論均強調觀看的方式對理解世界何其重要:Go to footnote 2 精心策劃的觀看過程構成了關於本真性和真憑實據的強大意識形態,建立複雜的主觀性,使個體和公眾成為文化的觀看者和吸收者。

我將在本文簡略探討嶄新的視覺化數碼過程如何擴展博物館定義世界的能力,並建構感知文物的新體驗。在最近出版的《Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age》一書中,我指出我們必須從更深遠的歷史脈絡出發去了解博物館數碼項目湧現的現象,尤其是在當今時代,數碼化本身被視為提供真憑實據的有效工具,並在博物館內造就了新的經驗主義和寫實主義形式。Go to footnote 1 儘管許多人認為數碼化宣告了館藏更加開放的新時代來臨,但許多數碼項目其實只是重構舊有的視覺化技術,加強以往的技術和目的論架構。「Google街景服務」等項目已在大英博物館及衛城博物館等開發,將這些空間開放予世界各地的公眾自由使用。然而,其觀看體驗並不容許人們隨心所欲地在這些備受尊崇的博物館展廳自由走動瀏覧。相反,人們必須遵循街景攝像鏡頭的指定路徑,這種固定視角源於一系列束縛甚大的原則,限制着我們在展廳中移動及觀看藝術品的方式。

這樣,以「Google街景」參觀博物館的體驗就印證了東尼‧貝納特的論點——他認為維多利亞時期的博物館是一種體制技術,提供一系列受管束的空間,讓公眾接觸實體館藏,以達至規訓作用。Go to footnote 1 同樣,許多博物館數碼項目,從IMAX電影院到智能手機的擴增實境應用程式,其實是和動物標本、情景模型和立體照片攝影等較古老的博物館技術一樣,都是為了製造身臨其境的真實效果,以在博物館展廳內營造超真實感。Go to footnote 2 只要留意一下這些歷史,就會明白我們應把數碼技術視為博物館為觀眾創造視覺和體感經驗的悠久傳統的一部分。

除了純粹享受數碼影像帶來的放大縮小及穿梭於物件間的新功能,我們還可以將這些項目視為重新校準的練習:我們以往把物件理解為提供證據和具有指引性的形式,須予以重新界定,將之置於新的宏大觀看體制下,現在的焦點在於數據的收集,而非現實中的物件。這種形式上的重新校準,或會將我們的感知方式從畫廊空間轉移到顯微鏡下,使我們能細看物件內部,感知在展廳中肉眼看不到的層面。我們甚或會將視覺校準到人造衛星或航拍機的層次,飛越大地進入考古現場,甚至吉薩大金字塔之中。Go to footnote 1 明顯的是,許多數碼項目所內含的新視覺化技術,從超高解像度的三維掃描到磁力共振掃描與數碼飛越,以及由這些新數據集形成的物件,不管是透過互動屏幕供人體驗還是由3D 打印而成的物件,其作用並不只讓我們更鉅細無遺地「觀看」這些古老的作品, 而且是更廣大的觀看政治的一部分。

像素藝術插畫繪畫了一個灰色石拱門,拱門兩側都有柱子,上方是藍天白雲。穿過拱門可見一座有圓頂和柱子的建築。

李帆,《帕米拉古城勝利拱門》(2020),圖片由藝術家提供

以下是例子之一:牛津大學和哈佛大學聯合發起「Million Images Database Project」,旨在集眾人之力建立一個關於中東文物的圖像數據庫,並盡可能收集立體圖像。Go to footnote 1 該項目的目的不僅在於整合出數碼檔案庫,還希望利用該檔案庫去建立一個虛擬圖像庫,原則上可用以應對該區域各地發生的偶像破壞及文物破壞活動。在巴西里約熱內盧國家博物館遭逢毀滅性大火之後,各界也對於其他脆弱的物質遺產開展了類似的項目。這些項目都假設數碼媒體能囊括並保留物件世界的重要(視覺)內容,並使它們能以實體方式重現於世,供公眾參觀,維持古文物作為民族和文化身分的基礎的地位。然而,正如Neil Brodie評論國際在保存文化財產方面的工作時一針見血地指出,在古跡遺址和當地社區缺乏實際支持的情況下,國際的保育及保護制度有利於西方的知識中心,犧牲了其他地區。Go to footnote 2數碼考古學研究中心(Institute of Digital Archaeology)以3D打印的帕米拉古城勝利拱門的巡迴展出路線也許是個好例子——它在美國、英國和意大利協助古蹟的構成及保存,對保護敘利亞的文物卻沒有帶來可見的益處。這樣,這些新的數碼形式完全秉承了西方博物館作為世界遺產保護者的(帝國)傳統角色,並令有關文化財產和文明的辯論原地踏步。

像素藝術插畫繪有娜芙蒂蒂的半身像,這個女人頭戴頂部扁平的圓柱形帽子,處於黑色的空間中。黑色背景上有藍色格線,格線上的某幾處可見一組拉長的白色菱形。

李帆,《娜芙蒂蒂半身像》(2020),圖片由藝術家提供

但是,這並不代表數碼技術沒有為理解館藏創造新的可能性。3D掃描和打印、擴增和虛擬實境,以及機器學習和人工智能,正將另類視覺系統(例如來自科學實驗室和醫療診所,還有黑客空間或自造實驗室)引入博物館收藏中,繼而令我們對於能從館藏中獲得甚麼知識的看法有所改觀。例如在2015年12月,兩位藝術家Nora Al-Badri和Jan Nikolai Nelles將藏於柏林新博物館的娜芙蒂蒂胸像的3D掃描數據發佈到公共領域,還附一段錄像,展示他們如何將Kinect感應器藏在大衣內,在參觀期間秘密竊取數據。該項目除了提供開源數據和錄像,還製作出一個3D打印的胸像,並在開羅舉行一場由這兩位藝術家主持的討論會,探討當代藝術與傳世文物之間的關係。Go to footnote 1 藝術家將此項目命名為「另一尊娜芙蒂蒂」,並利用這次竊取行為,一方面提出以虛擬方式歸還娜芙蒂蒂,使胸像自運出埃及後以3D打印版本首次重現於該國;另一方面以這顛覆性的數據收集方式來比喻這尊胸像本身被收藏的方式——埃及政府一直認為它是歐洲考古學家在埃及盜墓和非法考古取得的。

然而,故事還未完結。在「娜芙蒂蒂2.0」之後,技術專家和記者提出了一連串疑問,並引伸出一個問題:Al-Badri和Nelles使用的手提掃描儀真的能獲取他們所發佈的數據嗎?記者追查數據可能的來源,推測是來自一家受新博物館委託對娜芙蒂蒂胸像進行高解像度掃描的私人公司,而掃描所得的數據並未向公眾披露。該公司的網站展示了一幅娜芙蒂蒂的掃描照片,與Al-Badri和Nelles所發佈的圖像極為相似。藝術家回應說他們並無專門的技術知識,只是使用了黑客所管理的數據和資源,更拒絕公開黑客身分。如果沒有猜錯,那麼該項目實際上就是一個雙重解碼:一來顯示博物館不僅收藏古文物本身,還收藏其數碼複製品;二來利用數據的收集和展示,打破博物館既有之權威和財產制度,嘲弄所謂「數碼歸還」的贖回主張。Go to footnote 1

像素藝術插畫描繪一側倒地的娜芙蒂蒂半身像,背景中的黑色空間繪有一道粗闊的斜向藍色光線。半身像彷彿被格線圖案覆蓋,半個像有一半呈黑色,上有藍色格線。大小不一的球體飄浮在半身像四周。

李帆,《3D打印娜芙蒂蒂》(2020),圖片由藝術家提供

至關重要的是,我們必須了解這些技術的運作方式,不僅是為館藏創造令人嘆為觀止的視覺效果,還自行建立新的觀看主體。隨着機器學習的出現,我們接觸到愈來愈多新式數碼圖像,這些圖像並非通過具「指引性」的攝影過程製作出來,亦即拍攝原始對象的影像後以數碼像素方式呈現,而是由虛擬相機和電腦利用二手數據來源以演算法產生。Go to footnote 1 這些新圖像挑戰了我們的數碼圖像體驗(尤其是在博物館中)所賴以為基礎的關於真憑實據和本真性的現有模式,要求重新審視所有視覺系統背後的文化符碼和政治。創造新圖像所用的數據是由誰生產?正如考古和收藏史往往不會記載提供資料和擔當嚮導的土著的資料,在數碼事物的歷史中,也通常不會記載那些收集和整理數據的人。博物館人類學的工作是要恢復這些失落的歷史,並呈現館藏的組成及其展示方式背後複雜的社會和政治網絡。現在,數碼人類學家也必須為嶄新的數碼物件進行相同的工作。


文章頂部圖片:李帆,《虛擬實境》(2020),圖片由藝術家提供


註釋:

  1. Go to footnote 1
    Martin Heidegger, ‘The Age of the World Picture’ in The Question Concerning Technology and Other Essays (New York: Harper and Row, 1977) 115–55. Jonathan Crary, Suspensions of Perception: Attention, Spectacle, and Modern Culture (Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, 1999). Tony Bennett, ‘The Exhibitionary Complex’ New Formations 4 (1) 1988: 73–102.
  2. Go to footnote 2
    John Berger, Ways of Seeing: Based on the BBC Television Series Directed by Michael Dibb. 此書曾作為「Penguin設計系列」的一部分重新發行。Penguin on Design (London: British Broadcasting Corporation, 2008).
  3. Go to footnote 3
    Haidy Geismar, Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age (London: UCL Press, 2018). 可於以下網址免費下載:https://www.uclpress.co.uk/products/108452
  4. Go to footnote 4
    Tony Bennett, The Birth of the Museum : History, Theory, Politics (London and New York: Routledge, 1995).
  5. Go to footnote 5
    Alison Griffiths, Shivers down Your Spine: Cinema, Museums, and the Immersive View (Film and Culture. New York: Columbia University Press, 2008).
  6. Go to footnote 6
    例如這個由Touch Press 創建的應用程式:https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-pyramids/id557865627?mt=8
  7. Go to footnote 7
    「Million Images Database Project」網站:https://www.millionimage.org.uk
  8. Go to footnote 8
    Neil Brodie, ‘Protection Not Prevention: The Failure of Public Policy to Prevent the Looting and Illegal Trade of Cultural Property from the MENA Region (1990-2015)’ in The Routledge Companion to Cultural Property eds. Jane L. Anderson and Haidy Geismar (London; New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017), 89–107. 網上版本可見:https://www.routledgetextbooks.com/textbooks/9781138812642/chapters.php
  9. Go to footnote 9
    「Nefertiti Hack」網站:http://nefertitihack.alloversky.com
  10. Go to footnote 10
    Haidy Geismar, ‘Mimesis, replication and reality’ in Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age. (London: UCL Press, 2018), 105–113. Charley Wilder, ‘Nefertiti 3-D scanning project in Germany raises doubts’, The New York Times, 10 March 2016, https://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/11/arts/design/nefertiti-3-d-scanning-project-in-germany-raises-doubts.html
  11. Go to footnote 11
    William J. Mitchell, The Reconfigured Eye: Visual Truth in the Post-Photographic Era (Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, 1992). Joshua Rothman, ‘In the Age of A.I., Is Seeing Still Believing?’, The New Yorker, 5 November 2018. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2018/11/12/in-the-age-of-ai-is-seeing-still-believing

Haidy Geismar是倫敦大學學院人類學教授,亦是該校民族誌藏品策展人、數碼人類學計劃聯席主任,同時是發展文化實驗室的策略項目副院長。此實驗室位於該校設在東倫敦奧林匹克公園的新校區,旨在進行一系列嶄新的研究和教學活動,聚焦於媒體、文化遺產及藏品。她自2000年起在瓦努阿圖和紐西蘭進行田野考察,憑着這些經驗,其研究側重於以博物館和館藏作為知識和價值生產的場域,撰寫了眾多文章,主題包括藝術市場、後殖民博物館學、原住民知識與文化財產的生產、民族誌收藏史、不同文化脈絡中的數碼過程認識論,以及歷史照片藏品在當今社群中的社會意義。其近作包括2012年獲得視覺人類學會John Collier Prize for Still Photography 獎項的《Moving Images: John Layard, Fieldwork and Photography in Malakula since 1914》(Hawaii University Press, 2010),與Jane Anderson 合著的《The Routledge Cultural Property Reader》(2017),以及《Museum Object Lessons for the Digital Age》(University College London Press, 2018)。她是活躍的策展人,曾與劍橋大學考古學和人類學博物館、紐約大都會藝術博物館,以及檀香山East West Gallery 等合作,更是Te Maru o Hinemihi之成員,Te Maru o Hinemihi是一個代表毛利會堂Hinemihi利益的專家組織,該會堂位於英國克蘭頓公園,屬國民信託擁有的物業。她也是皇家人類學研究所攝影委員會主席,亦是全新開放取用刊物《Anthropology and Photography》的創刊編輯之一。