A Short Story About Foreign Affairs

Part One

This is the island of Singapore.

I am from Singapore.

Singapore is the kind of state with the kind of government that acts like a disapproving East Asian father who loves to tell you what to do, where it should be done, and exactly when and how.

View of Singapore. Marina Bay Sands, a large structure with three high rise buildings holding up a horizontal rooftop, is seen to the left next to a body of water. High rise buildings are seen to the right. In the foreground is a building with two rounded, beetle shaped domes and a park.

View of Marina Bay Sands, 2018. Courtesy of Stephanie Bailey

This is a sign that's right outside where I live. I have appropriated this as an artwork. This sign, shown out of context, is incredibly funny. And sad.

A yellow metal sign that says ‘This pavilion is strictly for community bonding activities only’ in black letters.

Heman Chong. THIS PAVILION IS STRICTLY FOR COMMUNITY BONDING ACTIVITIES ONLY, 2015. Vinyl letters, aluminium plate, gloss lamination, 60 x 45 cm. Commissioned by Parasite, Hong Kong. Collection of John Chia and Cheryl Loh

But I wasn't born in Singapore. I was born in a small, sleepy fishing village called Muar, which is located on the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia, about two hours from Singapore. I was born in 1977. I fall into a very common category that many Singaporeans and Malaysians are actually a part of, whether they want to admit it openly or not. I have friends who would rather die than admit that they are half Malaysian, or half Singaporean—to have a set of parents from two extremely different countries, which were in fact one country before 9 August 1965.

Monochrome photograph depicting a studio portrait of a young boy.

Portrait of Heman Chong, aged 3. Courtesy of Diana Lim and John Chong

For a very long time, there has been a certain level of porousness that permeates the region, with goods, people, ideas, and cuisines, moving fluidly not only between Malaysia and Singapore, but also between the islands of Batam and Bintan—islands of Indonesia. The idea that Singapore is a stand-alone Asian miracle is, for sure, a very new thing, and a very good story in our clean, globalised, and corporate world.

Singapore, as you might know, is the only country in the world that has gained independence from another country without a revolution or a war. It was simply rejected, and then subsequently ejected, from Malaysia. This is a very long story to get into, and I'll save it for another lecture. But to get to the point: because of this one separation event, from the moment of my birth I have been subjected to THREE laws governing citizenship in Singapore.

The first law: ‘A person born outside Singapore before 15 May 2004 will be a Singaporean citizen by descent only if their father was a Singaporean citizen by birth or by registration at the time of birth.’

This basically means that I remain Malaysian because my dad is Malaysian, EVEN IF my mother is Singaporean. It's totally sexist.

The second law: ‘The position of the Singapore Government is that dual citizenship is not allowed.’

This means that I can become a registered resident of Singapore, but only as a guest: I have to retain my Malaysian citizenship. My father, like myself, became a Permanent Resident in Singapore.

And finally, the third law: ‘Sons who take up permanent residency under the sponsorship of their Permanent Resident parent, are required by law to serve National Service, just like Singaporean male citizens.’

Following the completion of their military service, Permanent Residents are given the option to apply for Singapore citizenship.

This would mean that ONLY upon my completion of two and a half years of military service in Singapore could I renounce my Malaysian citizenship and finally be bestowed Singaporean citizenship. In a nutshell, my mind and my body have been militarised against a country I was born in.

A street in London with lavish white terrace houses built in a crescent shape with stuccoed balconies. The Singapore flag and the flag of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations both hang off one of the houses.

Frontal view of Singapore High Commission in London, 2018. Courtesy of Heman Chong

We can see, very clearly, that Singapore's sovereignty and national belonging is constructed upon the telling and re-telling of stories of our neighbours as 'lesser', 'dirty', 'unsuccessful', 'backward', 'not Asian enough', or 'too Western'. This is cultural warfare, reminiscent of the Cold War. And we're very, very good at it.

A Thai flag hanging off a building is visible through the silhouettes of trees on an urban street.

Frontal view of Thai Embassy in New York City, 2018. Courtesy of Heman Chong

Part Two

This is a door.

A closed metal door in a small stone wall in a back alley.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #01 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 130 x 200 x 5 cm. Signed and dated verso, unique. Courtesy of Heman Chong

This is another door.

A closed metal door in the back of a building. There is a small white sign with the words ‘Emergency access keep clear’ in English and Chinese on the door.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #291 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

Here is another.

The back alley of a building, with two doors in a darkened recess at the end of the alleyway.

Image 11 Foreign Affairs #287 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 177 x 118 inches (450 x 300 cm), 2018 Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

For a couple of months now, I have been walking around different cities in search of embassies.

But rather than the view you see here:

A building next to a street with a yellow cab driving by in a blur. Large letters on the front of the building say ‘Philippines’. The Philippines flag and the flag of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations hang on either side of a large entryway.

Frontal view of Philippine Embassy in New York City, 2018. Courtesy of Heman Chong

I am attempting to collect THIS view—this unheroic, neglected, silent view. As far as I'm concerned, this is still a part of an embassy. It's just the part that no one wants you to know about.

A metal gate in a metal fence in a grassy area, overgrown with leaves.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #36 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 130 x 200 x 5 cm. Signed and dated verso, unique. Courtesy of Heman Chong

I think we can all agree that nationalism is a kind of fiction: a way of telling a story to produce some sort of an agreement about what is real and what is not, just like money, or the law. These things allow us as human beings to somehow agree with each other in a way that enables the formation of something like a cooperative: a union that allows us to interact with each other in order to dominate the planet, or the exact opposite. In most cases, it is a mix of both.

A lot of my work involves looking at and thinking about the infrastructure of our built environment, including our societies. Architect and urbanist Keller Easterling describes infrastructure as the ‘overt point of contact and access, where the underlying rules of the world can be clasped in the space of everyday life’. This resonates with my experience of growing up in Singapore, and a series of encounters with how policies by politicians exert their absolute power over the built environment and consciousness of the public at large.

Infrastructure points to things that are often invisible: things that need to work smoothly, without a glitch. Within this framework, I see my practice—my entanglements with fiction writing, organising visuals structures, collecting ideas and observations—as testing the limits of infrastructure and the hidden power structures behind it.

In this realm, everything is soft and pliable. For example, instead of falling back on identity politics as hard fact and doctrine, I would often highlight these politics as something that is constantly shifting and contested, and something that needs to be complicated rather than simplified like a cheap sitcom, where everything has to be resolved by the end of every episode.

A short, shadowed hallway leading to a closed door in the back of a building. The building is covered in small vertical white tiles.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #12 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 130 x 200 x 5 cm. Signed and dated verso, unique. Courtesy of Heman Chong

Standing on the street, standing at the borders of these architectures marked as 'another country', I feel excluded; and within this moment, I am curious about the possible slippages that allow entry into these territories.

I am looking at a back door into a system. A country is a system. Systems are coded by a person or a group of persons.

A closed white, wooden door in the back of a building. The door has a small blue piece of graffiti on it.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #279 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

The back doors of embassies are mostly used for pizza deliveries or other random things. They are also used for the hassle-free comings and goings of the ambassador’s family members. I stand at these back doors and I imagine that they are used to smuggle secrets between countries. I stand at these doors and imagine encounters that transcend red tape.

Most of these doors remain unmarked, which I think is a security thing. If you think about it, you need less protection with something that is camouflaged and unnamed. Mostly, except for the presence of a security camera, or a high tech buzzer, it'll take a lot of walking and surveying to tell that a door is the back door to an embassy.

A short hallway leading to another hallway inside a building. The door that opens up to the second hallway is held open and covered in tape and transparent protective material. The same material is taped to the opposing wall. A metal folding floor sign that says ‘Caution wet floor’ sits next to the hallway.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #280 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

Except maybe for this one, which is completely ridiculous and is exceptionally revealing that it is a back door. I mean, seriously guys, whoever this architect is, you should definitely fire them.

A low stone wall leading to an outdoor stone staircase. A building with a large window covered by vertical blinds is visible behind the wall. A section of the stone wall is lighter in colour and separated from the rest through narrow gaps, suggesting that it is actually a gate.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #106 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

I have photographed about 300 back doors of embassies, and I think I'll just keep going on and on. It's a project that is kind of endless.

I also include buildings that were previously inhabited by embassies, like this one, which is highly recognisable in the city centre of The Hague in the Netherlands. The city is now attempting to sell the building to a private developer, hinting that they could use a new hotel—talk about foreign affairs.

In this project, I've opted not to reveal which back door is attached to whichever embassy because I don't think I am interested in a literal exposé of back doors.

What I am prepared to do is to openly admit that I might be completely wrong about some of these doors being back doors. I'm not trying to lie, but sometimes I might be just plain wrong about the door I've photographed, which really isn't a back door, but maybe a door to a small storage room or something. Like, for example, this one. I really can't decide if this is the back door or just the door to the garage that leads to a back door?

A back alley containing a garage with a black garage door and a smaller black door next to the garage. The garage is  located underneath a building surrounded by a fenced-off grassy area.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #79 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

We often want to know everything, but that is an impossible task. There's so much we don't know about this world. We live in a constant state of unknowing. I guess what I'm trying to say is: I would rather be wrong, than to not have a document of what I think is the back door.

So basically, these photographs are part of a subjective collection of where and which door I think is the back door to a certain embassy, which I consider by walking in circles around the building.

I don't deal with hard fact. I write fiction and that's what I'm doing here.

A grey garage door in a concrete building. Another garage door to the left hints at a row of garage spaces in the building.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #53 (detail), 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Courtesy of Heman Chong and Amanda Wilkinson Gallery

In order to communicate this subjectivity, I don't ever want to show these photos as documentary photographs. I'd like to show them, repeated, infinitely. I think by doing this, it forces someone to read the image as if it were a page of text in a book.

I want to repeat these images on surfaces, like the patterns you see on old-school Windows 95 desktops or something. They kind of resemble footage from a surveillance camera; the viewer of this series is always placed in a position to look for activity around these doors, rather than look AT the door.

I think I'll put them on canvases and prints and Christmas wrapping paper and curtains and on mugs and on t-shirts and postcards and banners and socks and tabletops and bus seats.

A grid of the same image repeated over and over. The image depicts a closed metal door in the back of a building.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #53, 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Collection Shane Akeroyd

I want these secrets—these things in politics that are unsaid, invisible, and sinister—to be on everything.

Two fabric curtains hang inside a room. The pattern on the curtains consists of a grid of the same image repeated over and over. The image depicts a closed metal door in the back of a building.

Heman Chong. Foreign Affairs #53, 2018. UV print on unprimed canvas, 450 x 300 cm. Collection Shane Akeroyd

Part Three

I want to end with a sentence that the Malaysian artist Redza Piyadasa wrote on a sculpture in 1977, the year I was born. It is a sentence that has influenced my work greatly over the years.

He wrote: ‘A fact has no appearance’.

A wooden door in a white-walled space. A large print of a monochrome photograph covering the door shows a man holding a cigarette and looking towards our right. The man stands next to a sculpture consisting of a large, round, egg-like object sitting in a tall, vertical wooden box with its bottom affixed to the wall. The inside of the box reads ‘A fact has no appearance’. A curatorial text is imposed onto the photograph, titled ‘Redza Piyadasa next to his work ‘A Fact Has No Appearance’ (1977). Photo by Robert C Crock.’

Installation view: A Fact Has No Appearance: Art Beyond the Object (22 January–19 June 2016), a group show with artists Johnny Manahan, Redza Piyadasa and Tan Teng-Kee. Image courtesy of National Gallery Singapore


This text was originally presented at Field Meeting Take 6: Thinking Collections (25–26 January 2019), the 6th edition of Asia Contemporary Art Week’s annual forum curated by ACAW Director Leeza Ahmady, and held at Alserkal Avenue, Dubai.

Image at top: Frontal view of Singapore High Commission in London, 2018. Courtesy of Heman Chong

Footnotes:

  1. Keller Easterling, The Action is the Form. Victor Hugo’s TED Talk (Strelka Press: 2012), 116

Heman Chong (Malaysia, 1977) is an artist whose work is located at the intersection between image, performance, situations, and writing. His practice can be read as an imagining, interrogation, and sometimes intervention into infrastructure as an everyday medium of politics. He received his Masters in Communication Art & Design from The Royal College of Art, London in 2002. He lives and works on Depot Road, Singapore.

Chong’s work has been shown in a number of solo exhibitions: Spirts in the Material World (Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam, Netherlands, 2019); Legal Bookshop (Swiss Institute, New York, USA, 2018); Because, the Night (72-13, Singapore, 2017); Ifs, Ands, Or Buts (Rockbund Art Museum, Shanghai, China, 2016); An Arm, A Leg and Other Stories (South London Gallery, London, England, 2015); Never, a Dull Moment (Art Sonje Center, Seoul, Korea, 2015); Calendars (2020–2096) (NUS Museum, Singapore, 2011); Common People and Other Stories (Art in General, New York, USA, 2007); Snore louder if you can (The Substation, Singapore, 2004); and The Silver Sessions (Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin, Germany, 2003).

In 2006, he developed a writing workshop with Leif Magne Tangen at Project Arts Center in Dublin, where they co-authored PHILIP (2007), a science fiction novel with Mark Aerial Waller, Cosmin Costinas, Rosemary Heather, Francis McKee, David Reinfurt, and Steve Rushton.

Between 2012 and 2014, Chong produced Moderation(s), a third space that exists between Witte de With Contemporary Art in Rotterdam, Netherlands and Spring Workshop in Hong Kong, China, which involved more than 50 artists and comprised a conference, three exhibitions, three residencies and a book of short stories.

Chong is the co-director and founder (with Renée Staal) of The Library of Unread Books, which has been hosted by the NTU Center for Contemporary Art, Singapore; The Museum of Contemporary Art and Design (MCAD), Manila, Philippines; Casco, Utrecht, Netherlands; Kunstverein Milano, Milan, Italy and Jameel Arts Center, Dubai, UAE.

He is currently working on a novel, The Book of Drafts, which will be published by Polyparenthesis in 2020.

一個關於外交事務的短篇故事

上篇

這是新加坡島。

我來自新加坡。

新加坡這種國家的政府,就如同東亞的嚴父般,對你諸多不滿,總愛告訴你該在何時、何地、以何種方式做些甚麼。

新加坡的景色。左邊可見坐落海邊的濱海灣金沙酒店,由三座大樓及橫跨三座大樓上方的屋頂組成;右邊則有多座摩天大樓。前景中有兩座圓拱形、形狀如甲蟲的建築物,另外還有一個公園。

濱海灣金沙酒店,2018年。圖片由Stephanie Bailey提供。

這個指示牌原本放在我住的地方外面,我把它納為己用化作一件藝術品。這個指示牌若在抽離脈絡的情況下展示,看起來確實既可笑又可悲。

一個黃色金屬牌,上面寫着「此涼亭只供鄰里聯誼之用」的英文。

張奕滿,《THIS PAVILION IS STRICTLY FOR COMMUNITY BONDING ACTIVITIES ONLY》,2015年,乙烯基字母、鋁板、光面塗層,60 × 45厘米。由香港Para Site藝術空間委約,謝惠光及駱美樂藏品。

我其實並非在新加坡出生,而是生於馬來半島西岸一個叫麻坡的地方,那是離新加坡約兩小時車程的寂靜小漁村。我生於1977年,身分屬於一個非常普遍的類別,許多新加坡人和馬來西亞人和我一樣,不管他們願不願意公開承認。我有些朋友寧死也不肯承認自己是半個馬來西亞人,或者是半個新加坡人,父母分別來自兩個截然不同的國家,而在1965年8月9日前,這兩個地方本來同屬一個國家。

一幅黑白影樓照,照片中是一個男孩。

張奕滿三歲時的肖像。圖片由林鳳華及張春才提供。

曾經有一段很長時間,這個地區的邊界頗為寬鬆,貨物、人、思想以至飲食文化均可自由流動於馬來西亞與新加坡之間,甚至印尼的巴淡島及民丹島之間。而將新加坡視為一個獨立個體、一個亞洲奇蹟,無疑是非常嶄新的想法,亦是我們這個乾淨、全球化,以及企業化的世界中一個很動聽的故事。

或許你也知道,新加坡是世上唯一不用經歷革命或戰爭,就能脫離另一國家獨立的國家。簡單的說,它先是被排斥,繼而被逐出馬來西亞聯邦。這個很漫長的故事,我還是留待以後再詳述,但重點是由於新加坡脫離馬來西亞這件事,我打從出生的那一刻起,便受到了新加坡三項有關國籍的法例所約束。

第一項法例:「在2004年5月15日前於新加坡境外出生的人,只有當其父親在其出生或作出生註冊時是新加坡公民,才可取得新加坡公民權。」

這基本上意味着即使我母親是新加坡人,只要我父親是馬來西亞人,我也就只能是馬來西亞人。這完全就是性別歧視。

第二項法例:「新加坡政府並不承認雙重國籍。」

這代表如果我要保留馬來西亞國籍,我只能以外國人身分申請成為新加坡居民。我父親跟我一樣,成為了新加坡的永久居民。

最後,第三項法例:「因其父母作為永久居民而獲得永久居民身分的男性,跟一般新加坡男性公民無異,必須依照法律履行國民服役。」

在服完兵役後,永久居民可選擇申請註冊為新加坡公民。

這意味着我只能在服完新加坡兩年半的役期後,才能放棄馬來西亞籍,並取得新加坡國籍。換言之,我的思想和身軀都被軍事化,用來對抗那個我出生的國家。

倫敦的街道上,一排白色的豪華房子呈新月形而建。每座房子均設有露台,其中一座的外牆掛了新加坡國旗及東南亞國家聯盟的旗幟。

新加坡駐倫敦高級專員公署正面外觀,2018年。圖片由張奕滿提供。

我們可以非常清晰地看到,新加坡的主權及國家歸屬感賴以建立的基礎,是不厭其煩地把鄰國描繪成「較差劣」、「骯髒」、「失敗」、「落後」、「不夠亞洲」或「過於西方」。這是令人想起冷戰的文化戰爭,而我們對此十分擅長。

一條市區街道上,在樹影後的大廈外牆上可見一面泰國國旗。

泰國駐紐約大使館正面外觀,2018年。圖片由張奕滿提供。

中篇

這是一扇門。

後巷中一道狹窄石牆上,有一道緊閉的金屬門。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #01》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,130 × 200 × 5厘米,背後附有簽名及日期的特別版。圖片由張奕滿提供。

這是另一扇門。

位於一座大廈後方的金屬門。這道緊閉的門上以中英文寫着「緊急通道,請勿阻塞」。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #291》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

再一扇門。

一幢大廈的後巷,盡頭可見一個凹進去的昏暗空間,當中有兩道門。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #287》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

幾個月以來,我一直在不同城市中穿梭,尋找大使館。

然而,我想讓你看的不是這種景象:

路邊一幢建築物的正面外牆上,以巨型字母寫着「菲律賓」的英文字樣,大門兩旁分別掛着菲律賓國旗及東南亞國家聯盟的旗幟,前方馬路上可見一輛黃色的士駛過,留下模糊的影像。

菲律賓駐紐約大使館正面外觀,2018年。圖片由張奕滿提供。

而是嘗試收集這樣的景觀──平平無奇、無人問津、沉寂的景象。在我而言,這依然是大使館的一部分,只是沒有人想讓你看見這部分而已。

草地上有一個金屬圍欄,上面長滿樹葉。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #36》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,130 × 200 × 5厘米,背後附有簽名及日期的特別版。圖片由張奕滿提供。

我想我們全都同意,民族主義算是種虛構的事物:這是一種陳述事物的方式,令我們對於何謂真實、何謂虛妄能有某種共同看法,情況就像金錢或法律一樣。這些東西讓身為人類的我們能夠彼此意見一致,從而組成類似合作社的事物:這樣我們就可以藉着這個同盟彼此互動,以便主宰地球,或者做完全相反的事。在大多數情況下,這類組織都是兩者兼有。

我有很多作品都是圍繞我們所建構的環境中的基礎建設,對之作觀察與思考,而所說的環境包括我們的社會。建築師兼都市學家Keller Easterling將基礎建設形容為「明顯不過的接觸點與切入點,讓這世界的潛規則得以緊扣於日常生活的空間之中」。 對此我深感共鳴,令我想起我在新加坡成長的經歷,以及一連串政治家透過政策對建構環境和大眾意識施加絕對權力的事件。

基礎建設往往指向看不見的東西:那些必須毫無瑕疵、流暢地運作的東西。於這個框架之內,我把我的創作──我所涉獵的小說寫作、視覺架構整理、各種意念的收集和觀察,視為測試基礎建設及其背後隱藏的權力架構的底線。

在這個領域之中,一切都是柔軟而可變的。比方說,我沒有把身分認同政治視為鐵一般的事實和定律,反而不斷強調這些政治概念是游移不定又備受爭議,並且有必要將它們複雜化,而非簡化成俗套的處境喜劇般──所有問題在每集結尾定必得到解決。

建築物後方有一條短而昏暗的走廊,通往一道緊閉的門。建築物的外牆鋪滿長方形的小瓷磚。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #12》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,130 × 200 × 5厘米,背後附有簽名及日期的特別版。圖片由張奕滿提供。

當我站在大街上,站在那些標誌着「另一個國家」的建築物的邊界上,我感到自己是個局外人;就在這一刻,我很好奇到底有哪些漏洞能讓我進入這些領土。

我正看着一個制度的後門。國家是一個制度,而制度是由一個或一群人所編寫。

建築物後方有一道緊閉的白色木門,門上有一幅藍色的細小塗鴉。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #279》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

領事館後門主要是用作取外賣薄餅之類的閒雜瑣碎事務,同時亦是方便大使家屬輕鬆進出的通道。我站在這些後門前,想像人們在這裏偷運國家機密。我站在這些門前,想像那些免於各種繁瑣手續和程序的接觸。

這些門大多沒有標記,我相信那是出於保安原因。如果你細心想想,就會發現經過偽裝和不標示名稱的東西通常不需要那麼多保護。在大多數情況下,除了見到安裝了保安鏡頭或高科技門鈴,你須要走很多圈、經過仔細勘察,才能肯定那些是大使館的後門。

圖中可見一條很短的走道,旁邊有一個直立式金屬牌,寫着「小心地滑」。走道通往一道打開的門,門內是建築物內的另一條走道。這道門被膠帶及透明保護物料覆蓋,門對面的牆上亦貼上同樣的保護物料。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #280》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

這扇門大概是個例外,它異常明顯地透露那是後門,這實在太好笑了。不管建築師是誰,你們絕對應該把此人開除掉,我這個建議是認真的。

圖中可見室外石梯旁有一道低矮石牆,後方有一座建築物,建築物外牆有巨大窗戶,以垂直百葉窗遮擋。石牆有一部分的顏色較淺,並與其他部分之間有着狹窄縫隙,可見它其實是一道閘門。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #106》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

我拍攝了約三百幅大使館後門的照片,而我想我會一直繼續下去。這幾乎是個永無止境的計劃。

我還拍攝了之前曾用作大使館的建築物的後門,例如這座位於荷蘭海牙市中心、一眼就能認出的建築物。該市現正嘗試將此物業賣給私人發展商,並暗示可將之改建為酒店——那可真是外交事務吧。

在這個計劃裏,我選擇不去透露那些後門屬於哪個大使館,因為我並無興趣直接揭露這些後門。

而我亦準備公開承認我或許完全認錯了某些門是後門。當然,我並非有意說謊,但有時候我可能只是完全搞錯了,拍下的並非後門,而或許是通往小型儲物室之類地方的門。比如這道,我可真的無從判斷這到底是後門,還是通往車庫的門,而後門要進入車庫才看到。

後巷中有一個設有黑色閘門的車庫,車庫旁邊還有一道細小的黑色門。車庫之上是一幢建築物,上面有一個有欄杆圍繞的花園。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #79》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

我們總想把所有事情都弄一清二楚,但那是不可能的任務。關於這個世界,我們不瞭解的實在太多了。我們長期活在一種混沌無知的狀態。我猜我想說的是,我寧願弄錯了,也不願意錯過我認為是後門的事物,不去將之記錄。

所以,這些照片大致上拍下了一系列我主觀地推斷是大使館後門的門,而我判斷的方法,就是繞着大樓走來走去。

我創作的重點不是確切的事實。我寫小說,而這就是我現在所做的事。

一幢混凝土建築物上有一道灰色的車庫閘門;左邊又有另一道車庫閘門,可見這一層是該建築物的車庫。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #53》(局部),2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。圖片由張奕滿及Amanda Wilkinson Gallery提供。

為了讓觀眾理解這種主觀性,我絕對不想以紀實照片的方式展示這些照片。我希望把它們無限地重複。我認為透過這種方式,可以逼使觀眾把影像當成書本中的一頁文字般解讀。

我想把這些圖像在平面上重覆展示,就如你在舊式Windows 95桌面之類看到的圖案那樣。圖片有點像閉路電視片段,令觀眾在觀看這個系列時,總是去觀察這些門周邊的活動,而非把注意力放在那扇門本身。

我想我會將圖片印到畫布、印刷品、聖誕禮物包裝紙、窗簾、杯子、T恤、明信片、橫幅、襪子、桌面以及巴士座位上。

同一幅圖片不斷重覆,排列成一格一格。圖片上可見一幢建築物後方的金屬門。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #53》,2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。Shane Akeroyd藏品。

我希望將這些秘密,這些在政治中沒有被提及、看不見和陰暗的東西,印在所有東西上。

一個房間內掛着兩幅布簾,布簾上的圖案由一幅不斷重覆的圖片組成,以一格一格排列。圖片上可見一幢建築物後方一道緊閉的金屬門。

張奕滿,《Foreign Affairs #53》,2018年,UV打印、無底漆畫布,450 × 300厘米。Shane Akeroyd藏品。

下篇

我想以馬來西亞藝術家Redza Piyadasa於1977年,亦即我出生的那一年,在雕塑上所寫的一句話作結。這句話在這些年來對我的作品影響深遠。

他寫道:「真相無形。」(A fact has no appearance.)

圖中的空間設有白色牆壁及一道木門,門上印有一張黑白照片。相中的男人站在雕塑旁,拿着香煙,望向我們的右方。雕塑由以下物件組成:一個底部固定在牆上的垂直木箱,裏面放有巨大的蛋形物件。箱內印有意思是「真相無形」的英文。照片上印有「策展說明」字樣,標題文字寫着「Redza Piyadasa站在其作品《真相無形》(1977)旁,攝影: Robert C Crock」。

「A Fact Has No Appearance: Art Beyond the Object」展覽現場,Johnny Manahan、Redza Piyadasa及陳錄記聯展,展期為2016年1月22日至6月19日,圖片由新加坡國家美術館提供。


本文原於2019年1月25至26日舉辦的「Field Meeting Take 6: Thinking Collections」中發表。該活動為亞洲當代藝術週第六屆的「Field Meeting」年度論壇,由藝術週總監Leeza Ahmady策劃,於杜拜的阿瑟卡爾大道舉行。

文章頂部圖片:新加坡駐倫敦高級專員公署正面外觀,2018年。圖片由張奕滿提供。

註釋:

  1. Keller Easterling著:《The Action is the Form. Victor Hugo’s TED Talk》(莫斯科:Strelka Press,2012年),頁116。

張奕滿(1977年生於馬來西亞)是一位藝術家,其創作橫跨多個領域,包括影像、表演、情境建構及寫作,可解讀為對基礎建設這種政治的日常載體的想像、詰問,甚至有時候是干預。他於2002年在倫敦皇家藝術學院取得傳播藝術及設計系碩士學位,現於新加坡德普路生活和工作。

張奕滿的作品曾於多個個展中展出:包括「Spirits in the Material World」(Het Nieuwe Instituut,荷蘭鹿特丹,2019年)、「Legal Bookshop」(瑞士當代藝術學院,美國紐約,2018年)、「Because, the Night」(72-13,新加坡,2017年)、「Ifs, Ands, Or Buts」(上海外灘美術館,中國上海,2016年)、「An Arm, A Leg and Other Stories」(南倫敦畫廊,英國倫敦,2015年);「Never, a Dull Moment」(善宰藝術中心,韓國首爾,2015年)、 「Calendars (2020-2096) 」(新加坡國立大學博物館,新加坡,2011年)、「Common People and Other Stories」(Art in General,美國紐約,2007年)、「Snore louder if you can」(電力站藝術之家,新加坡,2004年),以及「The Silver Sessions」(貝塔寧藝術村,德國柏林,2003年)。

在2006年,張奕滿與挪威藝術家Leif Magne Tangen在都柏林Project Arts Center舉辦寫作工作坊,並與Mark Aerial Waller、Cosmin Costinas、Rosemary Heather、Francis McKee、David Reinfurt及Steve Rushton共同撰寫科幻小說《PHILIP》(2007年)。

在2012及2014年間,張奕滿策劃了「Moderation(s)」,作為存在於荷蘭鹿特丹Witte de With當代藝術中心與香港Spring Workshop之間的第三空間,一共有五十多位藝術家參與,內容包括一場會議、三個展覽、三個藝術家駐場活動,以及一本短編故事集。

張奕滿與Renée Staal一同創立The Library of Unread Books計劃,並擔任此計劃的共同總監。該計劃已巡迴新加坡南洋理工大學當代藝術中心、菲律賓馬尼拉當代藝術與設計博物館(MCAD)、荷蘭烏德勒支Casco Art Institute、意大利米蘭Kunstverein Milano,並將於阿聯酋杜拜Jameel Arts Center展出。

他目前正撰寫名為《The Book of Drafts》的小說,該書將於2020年由Polyparenthesis出版。