Transcript: Hu Xiaoyuan interview

Hu Xiaoyuan: Is Seeing Believing?

(Original language: Mandarin)

HU XIAOYUAN: Everything is in the process of fading away, but due to the brevity of our life there are some things that we don't notice. I'm currently thinking a lot about the issue of authenticity. It's an important aspect of how I perceive and think about this world and existence.

As an artist or as an individual, it's a fundamental part of my existence. In this exhibition, I depicted a pomegranate through my usual method. I found a very plump pomegranate in great shape at the supermarket and then I brought it back to the studio and applied xiao, which I often use in my creations.

Xiao is a pure and natural raw silk woven in a traditional way. I used it to tightly wrap the pomegranate and sew it up so it fit closely to its surface. I'm using xiao and I find the material itself intensely… biological.

It is a type of purely animal-derived material. It is woven with the simplest plain weave method and it's very, very clean, meaning only silk is used. Probably because of the interconnectedness of different organisms I am able to perceive certain qualities in this fabric.

For example, I can feel the breath of life in the material. After wrapping it, and as I often do, I use ink to paint all of the visible details on the pomegranate. We all know that the fruit will dry out and shrink as time passes. As it gets drier and drier, the xiao layer covering the surface also changes over time. That's when it becomes interesting

We all have the initial assumption that seeing is believing and that what we see is real. In this case, the initial layer I painted was what is believed to be the most authentic state of the pomegranate, but after a few months, it changed to this. So, which one of these two pomegranates is real?

Back to video

影片謄本:胡曉媛訪談

胡曉媛:眼見為實?

胡曉媛:所有東西都存在一個消逝的過程,但是我們(生存)的過程太短暫,有一些東西我們是察覺不到的。現在我在想的是一個關於真實的問題,正好是我個人去看或者是去思考這個世界的,很重要的關於存在方面的一些個人的角度。我覺得這對於我無論作為藝術家還是一個個體的人來說,都是我存在的一個根本。

在這個展覽中我會用我比較慣常的方式去描繪一個石榴。我在超市找到一顆非常飽滿、狀態特別好的石榴之後,把它帶回到工作室裏。然後我用我一直慣常使用的綃,也就是傳統的平素綃,也就是真絲綃,把它附着在這個石榴上,用緊緊包裹的方式,用一些線去縫合,讓它貼合在這個石榴的表層上。

因為我用的是真絲綃,材料本身它具有很強烈的……我覺得是生物性。因為它是一種純動物材料,它是用最簡單的經緯平織的方法使用蠶絲,而且是非常非常就是乾淨的,只使用蠶絲。可能因為這種生物的共通的這種通感,讓我對這個材料裏邊的某種特徵,我能感知它,比如說我能感受到這個材料裏邊的這種生命的溫度。

之後我用我一直用的這種墨描畫的方式,把石榴上所有能看到的細節全部都畫下來。隨着時間,水果肯定會乾扁,這我們大家都是知道的。那它愈來愈乾、愈來愈乾,它表層的綃也隨着時間和過程發生了變化。

那這個時候就有意思了。最初的時候我們都相信自己眼見為實的東西,就是我們所觀看到的真實。那我們最初畫的那一層,就是我們認可的石榴的最真實的一個狀態。但等到幾個月之後,它變成了這個樣子了。所以說這兩個東西到底哪一個才是真實?

返回影片